SSHS captures 23rd straight district UIL title
Patti Sells | News-Telegram Feature Editor

April 5, 2005 -- Sulphur Springs High School students won the its' 23 straight District 12-4A University Interscholastic League Academic Championship title Saturday, earning 539 points overall. North Lamar came in a distant second with 369.5 points.

The total scores also reflect points earned for Cross examination, Lincoln-Douglas debate, ready writing and One Act Play, events that took place earlier in the year. Students who placed first through third individually, and first place teams will advance to the regional competition to be held in Denton at the University of North Texas on April 22-23.

Individual first place honors went to Whitney Thompson, feature writing; Andrew Watley, headline writing, spelling and vocabulary; Cade Rea, computer science; Kim deWitte, calculator applications; and Brandon Woolley, prose. Cade Rea was also noted for earning the top biology score.

The six teams earned first place team honors. The top ranked science team consisted of Cade Rea, Jovan Gonzales and Brenon Smith. The first place accounting team was made up of Keelen Green, Laura Ream and Joe Beason, while the the number sense team included Robin Gafton, Jeffrey Kramer and Brenon Smith. The top ranked calculator team was made up of Kim deWitte, Candace Stillwagoner and Jovan Gonzales. Andrew Watley, Logan McQueen and Leslie Bryant made up the first place spelling team, while the current issues and events team included Luke Panter, Micheal McQueen and Valerie Walker. The first place journalism team included Whitney Thompson, Andrew Watley, Jamie Bockemehl, Tasia Barrett, Megan Taylor and Chelbie Bolton.

Second place winners included Cade Rea, science; Jamie Bockemehl, news writing; Jessica Peoples, computer applications; Keelen Green, accounting; Candace Stillwagoner, calculator applications; Logan McQueen, spelling and vocabulary; Leslie Horne, prose; and Luke Panter, current issues and events.

Second place team awards went to the literary criticism team consisting of Philip Litzler, Brandi King, Lauren Longino and Audrey Lutz and to the mathematics team made up of Brenon Smith, Jeffrey Kramer and Kim deWitte.

Taking third place awards were Whitney Thompson, editorial writing and headline writing; Jamie Bockemehl, feature writing and poetry; Tasia Barrett, news writing; Robin Grafton, number sense; Jovan Gonzales, calculator applications; Leslie Bryant, spelling and vocabulary; Sarah McLeroy, social studies; and Michael McAndrew, current issues and events.

Fourth place recipients were Brenon Smith, science and mathematics; Andrew Watley, editorial writing; Laura Ream, accounting; Jeffrey Kramer, number sense; Calvin Friesth, spelling and vocabulary; and Chase Helm, informative speaking.

Students recognized for placing fifth included Chelbie Bolton, editorial writing; Jamie Bockemehl, headline writing; Brandi King, computer applications; Brenon Smith, number sense; Jerrell Allen, prose; Crystal Figueroa, informative speaking; Robbie Moore, persuasive speaking; and Valerie Walker, current issues and events.

Sixth place finishers included Jovan Gonzales, science; Megan Taylor, news writing; Levi Moore, ready writing; Marci Womack, calculator applications; Chase Helm, social studies; Jeffrey Kramer, Mathematics; Kendall Scudder, informative speaking; and Sarah McLeroy, persuasive speaking.

One Act Play awards went to Brandon Woolley for best actor and Leslie Horne for best actress. Patrick Whitehead and Jeffrey Kramer were named to the All Star Cast, and Carley Stewart was named All Star Cast Technician. Honorable mention for the All Star Cast went to Lindsey Kennedy and Kayla Lucas. The One Act Play was selected to advance to the area competition to be held April 9, at Mesqite Poteet High School.

Other members of the cast include Robby Jackson, Jessica Lewis, Brandon Edwards, Ryan Thompson, Charlie Ginn, Leslie Horne, Clint Brown, Katie Watson, Kelly Keys, Zach Wisniewski and Rachel Brown. The crew also included Tyler Reppond and Stephanie Mobley. Alternates will be Chris Moon, K.C. Smith, Tasha Hart and Kendall Smith.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008