Voters elect trustees in school districts
Faith Huffman | News-Telegram News Editor

May 17, 2004 -- Six local school districts announced Monday morning the winners of the May 15 board of education elections for each school.

Norman Ray Sanders, Carolyn Malone Thomas and Foy Williams were elected to three full-term at-large seats on Sulphur Springs Independent School District's Board of Education. Sanders brought in the most votes with 737 ballots. Williams received the second largest tally with 658 votes and Thomas received 599 votes. Wade Johnston just missed being elected to the board with 537 votes, and the 524 votes Tony Cook received was one more than Craig Roberts' tally of 523 votes. Candidate Andy Chester received 208 votes and Michael Moore received 132 votes.

Voters within Como-Pickton Consolidated Independent School District elected Gerald Walters, Abbie Matthews Wright and Brad Carr to serve in the three at-large full term seats on the school board. Walters received 124 votes, Wright 79, Carr 70, Sherrie Shadix France 58, James Hodges 55 and Andy Harmon 26 votes.

In Miller Grove, Brett Darrow and Lewis Russell beat out John Stewart and Johnny Burns for the two full-term seats on the district's school board as the two candidates receiving the most votes in Saturday's election.

Voters reelected Jason Hudson to Cumby Independent School District's Board of Education with 112 votes cast for the incumbent board member. Jody Jarvis, who received 99 votes, was elected to the second at-large seat on Cumby's board. Candidate Glen Sawyer received 40 votes and Russell Parker 48 votes.

Randy Scott Johnson beat out challengers Tim White and Virgil Wade for the Place 6 seat on Saltillo Independent School District's board. Johnson received 61 votes, White 44 votes and Wade four votes. Saltillo votes also elected Chad Neal for the Place 7 seat on the board. Neal received 67 votes while challenger Earl Gregory only received 41 votes.

Incumbents Ronny Caldwell and Terry Goldsmith will once again fill the two full-term at-large trustee spots on Sulphur Bluff Independent School District's board. Both incumbents received 56 votes each, while challenger Archie Brown received only nine votes.

North Hopkins Independent School District did not hold an election Saturday, as election law does not require districts to hold a trustee election if the number of candidates signing up to run for those spots matches the number of places on the board.

Ricky D. Glosup will continue serving the one-year unexpired term on North Hopkins school board. Glosup was appointed by the school board earlier in the year to fill the seat of board member Troy Emerson, who had to resign after moving from the district. Emerson was reelected to the board in May 2002. Glossup has also served on the board in the past. Incumbent Max Drummond will fill the second seat, which is currently held by long-time board member Jana Hankins.

Ron McKinney was defeated in his bid for reelection to Yantis Independent School District's Board of Education drawing only 99 votes in Saturday's election compared to the 258 votes B.B. West received, the 230 votes earned by Arlan Jaeger which ensured West and Jaeger will serve in the two full-term at large seats on Yantis's board. Even challenger Mike Kenney drew more votes than McKinney, receiving 105 votes overall. Norma Burns, who requested too late to have her name removed from the ballot after deciding to withdraw completely from the race and lend her support West and Jaeger, also received 15 votes.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008