Contested races develop for county school board seats
No contested races means no election for North Hopkins

Faith Huffman | News-Telegram News Editor

March 20, 2004 -- Filing in local school board races ended Monday evening with Sulphur Springs having the most contested race, with eight signing up to run in May 15 election while one other district confirmed five are seeking spots on its board.

North Hopkins will not be required to hold an election this year as the number of candidates signed up matches the number of places on the board.

Ricky D. Glosup will continue serving the one-year unexpired term on North Hopkins school board. Glosup was appointed by the school board earlier in the year to fill the seat of board member Troy Emerson, who had to resign after moving from the district. Emerson was reelected to the board in May 2002. Glossup has also served on the board in the past.

Incumbent Max Drummond was one of the two filing for the two full-term seats on North Hopkins board. Brent McQueen will fill the seat currently held by Jana Hankins, who has served on the board for a number of years. The positions are for three years.

"These are the only people to file for the two full term and one unexpired term. North Hopkins will not have to have an election," Sharlene Brice, North Hopkins Independent School District election official, said late Monday evening.

According to Yantis Independent School District election official Stacy Walker, no new candidates filed for candidacy in the May 15 election leaving total at five candidates for the two full-term seats currently held by Al Phillips and Ron McKinney.

Incumbent Ronald W. McKinney, a retired U.S. government worker, is challenged in his bid for reelection to Yantis' board by retiree Arlan Jaeger, mechanic Michael Kenney, collections manager Norma Burns and retiree B.B. "Bo" West.

In Sulphur Springs, incumbents Norman Ray Sanders and Tony Cook are challenged by Andy Chester, Carolyn M. Thomas, Wade Johnston, Craig Roberts, Michael Moore and Foy Williams. The three candidates receiving the most votes in that election will each be awarded a three-year term on the school board, SSISD Election Official Judy Gregg said at 5 p.m. Monday.

Early voting in person for the three full three-year term seats on SSISD's board will be conducted weekdays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. beginning on April 28 through May 11 at City Hall. Sharon Ricketson, city election judge, must receive applications for ballots by mail no later than the close of business on May 7. Applications for ballots should be mailed to Sharon Ricketson, 125 S. Davis St., Sulphur Springs, Texas 75482. The general election is slated from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Saturday, May 15, in the board room of the Administration Building, 631 Connally St.

Voters may submit applications for early voting by mail for the May 15 election beginning March 16 and concluding April 15, with early voting ballots to be mailed beginning March 31. Ballots cast by mail must be received by the early voting clerk no later than Friday, May 7. Early voting in person in the YISD election begins Wednesday, April 28 and will continue from 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. weekdays through May 7. Early voting will be conducted in the school cafeteria, 105 West Oak St. Anyone not already registered but planning to vote in the May 15 trustee election at YISD must register to vote no later than April 15. The general election will commence from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Saturday, May 15, at the school.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008