Contested ballots set for municipal elections
Mayoral races contested in Como, Cumby and Sulphur Springs

Kerry Craig | News-Telegram Assistant Editor

March 20, 2004 -- While only one contested city council race has developed in Sulphur Springs by the end of the filing period at 5 p.m. Monday, the cities of Como and Cumby have contested races for all positions on their respective city councils in the May 15 city elections.

Incumbent Place 4 councilman Brad Burgin, who is currently serving as mayor of Sulphur Springs, is being challenged in his bid for a second term on the council by Freddie Taylor.

Freddie Taylor is manager of the VF Factory Outlet Store.

Also on the May 15 city ballot will be the Place 5 seat on the council, currently held by Larry Powers, a local attorney. Powers, who is seeking a fourth term on the council, did not draw an opponent and will serve another term on the council.

Interest in city politics is high in Cumby where contested races were set for mayor and both the Place 1 and Place 2 council positions.

In the race for mayor of Cumby, incumbent Gary Cline is being challenged by Orval France and Travis Baxley.

Incumbent Place 1 Councilman David Weatherbee drew opposition from Charles T. Smith on the May 15 ballot in Cumby and David Petty, incumbent Place 2 councilman, will be facing challenges from LaVerne Battle and Kelly Vinson in his bid for reelection.

After a year of turmoil in Como, contested races have developed for all three seats on that city council.

Two people, Teresa Wilkins and Roy Darby are seeking election as mayor of Como. The current mayor, Don Collins, was appointed to the post in December following the resignation of Gene Brown.

Seeking the council position of street commissioner are Donald Meeks, who is seeking an additional term on the council, Margaret Carpenter and Ray Shocky.

Two people, James William Carroll and Jimmy Dean Clark, are seeking election to the water commissioner's seat on the council.

City council elections will be held in all three cities on Saturday, May 15. Early voting for the election will begin on Wednesday, April 28 and continue through Tuesday, May 11.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008