Crowded fields emerge in primary filings
Faith Huffman | News-Telegram News Editor

January 9, 2004 -- Filing for the March party primary elections closed at 6 p.m. Friday, with no new candidates filing for county offices, according to Democratic and Republican party representatives.

In the race for a seat in the U.S. Congress, incumbent Democrat U.S. Rep. Max Sandlin of Marshall will have at least one opponent to face in his bid for re-election. Jim Nickerson of Pittsburg announced Jan. 1 he will be seeking the Democratic nomination for U.S. House of Representatives in the Fourth Congressional District.

Meanwhile Steve Clark of Rockwall announced Friday his intention to run for the Republican nomination for that seat, one of five candidates for the GOP. Clark is challenged in the Republican primary for the Fourth District by Ray Ivey of Heath, Mike Murphy of Frisco, Bob Collins of Farmersville and Gene Christensen of McKinney.

County officers appearing on the ballot in March include two constable positions, tax assessor/collector, county attorney, district attorney, sheriff, Precinct 1 and 3 county commissioners, and Eighth Judicial District judge.

Phillip Anderson is the lone applicant on the Republican ballot for Precinct 3 commissioner as is incumbent Precinct 1 Commissioner Beth Wisenbaker, according to Hopkins County Republican Party Chairman Patsy McClain.

This marks the second time Anderson, who applied Dec. 29, has sought a seat on the county commissioner's court. Two years ago he won the Republican nomination for Precinct 4 commissioner, but was defeated by Democrat Danny Evans. Anderson has since moved to Precinct 3 and will face incumbent Precinct 3 Commissioner Don Patterson, a Democrat in the general election.

Wisenbaker filed for candidacy with the Republican Party on the first day of filing. She is seeking a third term as commissioner.

Also contested will be the Democratic nomination for Eighth Judicial District Attorney. Heath Hyde, an assistant district attorney in Dallas County, is running against Martin Braddy, who serves as an assistant to current Eighth Judicial District Attorney Frank Long, who is stepping down after numerous years in the position.

The Republican nomination for the Third Legislative District of Texas is being sought by Dr. Jeff Cunningham of Sulphur Springs and Kirby Hollingsworth of Mount Vernon. Democrats competing for their party's nomination include incumbent State Rep. Mark Homer and Richard Bradley Weemes, both of Paris.

Other incumbent office holders filing in the Democratic primary who remained unopposed included Precinct 1 Constable Larry Argenbright, Precinct 2 Constable Roger "Tex" Maynard, Tax Assessor/Collector Debbie Jenkins, Hopkins County Attorney Dustanna "Dusty" Hyde Rabe, Eighth Judicial District Judge Robert Newsom and Hopkins County Sheriff Charles "Butch" Adams.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008