Sulphur Springs High School takes 22nd straight district UIL championship
Sarah McLeroy, Jeffrey Kramer advance to state cross-exam debate

From Staff Reports

April 5, 2004 -- Sulphur Springs High School captured its 22nd overall 11-4A University Interscholastic League Academic championship over the weekend, earning a total 547 points at the spring meet held at McKinney North High School. Sherman High School trailed in second with 415 points.

Of students placing at the district meet, 32 advanced to the regional meet slated for April 24 at the University of North Texas by earning first through third place individually or receiving first place team honors.

The second place district cross-examination debate team will be advancing to the state contest. Brant Small and Landon McCaig were also noted for placing fourth in district cross examination debate.

The school's One-Act Play will also be advancing to the Area Contest on April 10.

Students receiving top honors at the district UIL meet in McKinney over the weekend included Maggi Mattison, headline writing; Brittany Boyd, news writing; Chelbie Bolton, editorial writing; Ian Wells, prose interpretation; Lauren Owens, current issues and events; Kim deWitte, Calculator applications; Andrew Watley, spelling and vocabulary; Cade Rea, computer science; Brandon Woolley, poetry interpretation; Tasia Barrett, social studies; and Jovan Gonzales, top biology score.

Seven teams also placed first at the district meet. Lauren Owens, Valerie Walker, Chelbie Bolton and Luke Panter made up the top ranked current events team, while the calculator applications team was composed of Kim deWitte, David Johnson, Andrew Watley and Candace Stillwagoner. Making up the first place spelling and vocabulary team were Andrew Watley, David Johnson, Ashton Rush and Logan McQueen. Jovan Gonzales, Cade Rea, Dean Soeder and Dawn Soeder composed the top ranked science team, while the first place literary criticism team included Philip Day, Brandi King, Lauren Longino and Phillip Litzler. Included among the first ranked computer science team were Cade Rea, Jason Trout, Phillip Litzler and Laura Jordan. The first place district social studies team that is advancing to region contest includes Tasia Barrett, Brittany Boyd, Travis Longino and Lane McClung.

Ian Wells, Brandon Woolley, Jamie Bockemehl, John Litzler, Leslie Horne, Sarah McLeroy, Monica Helm, Chase Helm, Brandon Edwards and Robbie Moore were awarded the second place speech team title.

Second place honors also went to Jeffrey Kramer, number sense; Philip Day, ready writing; David Johnson, calculator applications, and spelling and vocabulary; Keelen Green, accounting; Jovan Gonzales, science; Philip Day, literary criticism; Jason Trout, computer science; Jamie Bockemehl, poetry interpretation; John Litzler, persuasive speaking; Cade Rea, second highest biology and chemistry scores.

The number sense team of Jeffrey Kramer, Landon McCaig, David Johnson and Robin Grafton and the accounting team composed of Keelen Green, Joe Beason, Ben Whillock and Allison Garrard both received second place team honors.

Placing third were David Johnson, headline writing; Leslie Horne, prose interpretation; Ashton Rush, spelling and vocabulary; Cade Rea, science; and Brittany Boyd, social studies.

SSHS students ranking fourth included Landon McCaig, number sense; Valerie Walker, current issues and events; Andrew Watley, calculator applications; Logan McQueen, spelling and vocabulary; Jessica Peoples, computer applications; Dean Soeder, science; Brandi King, literary criticism; Sarah McLeroy, poetry interpretation; and Monica Helm, persuasive speaking.

Students recognized for their fifth place finish included Jamie Bockemehl, feature writing; Megan Taylor, headline writing; Candace Stillwagoner, calculator applications; Dawn Soeder, science; and Chase Helm, informative speaking.

Sixth place finishers included David Johnson, number sense; Whitney Thompson, feature writing; Joe Beason, accounting; Lauren Longino, literary criticism; Brandon Edwards, informative speaking; and Robbie Moore, persuasive speaking.

Maggi Mattison, Brittany Boyd, Chelbie Bolton, David Johnson, Jamie Bockemehl, Megan Taylor and Whitney Thompson were named the overall journalism team winner.

At the District One Act Play contest held March 31 Matt Worsham was named best actor; Rachel Brown, all-star cast; Brandon Woolley and Ryan Thompson, Honorable Mention All-Star Cast; Kayla Lucas, All-Star in technical category; and Katie Watson and Bryan Bain, both honorable mention in technical category. The SSHS One-Act Play student will compete at the area contest on April 10.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008