LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram Sports SSHS Hall of Fame welcomes new members

SSHS Hall of Fame welcomes new members

E-mail Print PDF

It is time again for Sulphur Springs former athletes to be honored with the induction of three new members in the SSHS Hall of Fame Friday.

The three new inductees – Mindy Boss Pickelmann (Class of 1997), Mike McCaffrey (Class of 1988) and Murl Furney (Class of 1942) – will be formally introduced at Gerald Prim Stadium next Friday shortly before the 7:30 p.m. kickoff between the Wildcats and Texas High. A reception to honor the new inductees is scheduled for 5:45 p.m. in the high school conference center. The reception is open to the public.

As a member of the hall Sulphur Springs head football coach and 1986 graduate, Greg Owens,  knows what it is like to get the honor.

“I think this is just great. To be honored by your school and former class it’s a neat thing,” Owens said. “To be thought of and voted on. There’s a committee which selects them. It’s a special time for those families.”

Owens continued, “I like that it’s all sports represented. I don’t know any of the 2009 inductees personally. But they are in for a big honor.”

Inductees from 2008 were: Tyreo Harrison, Class of ‘98; Octus Polk, Class of ‘90; Fred Watson, Class of ‘58; Lawrence “Shorty” France, Class of ‘26 and Marvin Dial, Class of ‘71.




mySSnews Login

User Menu