LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram Sports Wildcats named to all-district baseball team

Wildcats named to all-district baseball team

E-mail Print PDF

Sulphur Springs All-District 13-4A Selections

Newcomer of the Year - Shane McQueen, Junior, Outfielder
.313 average, 21 hits, six doubles, three triples, .463 slugging percentage, .420 on base average, nine stolen bases in 10 attempts.
First team
Kolton Jones, shortstop, senior, .441 average., 30 hits, 14 RBI .603 slugging percentage.
Ben Barrows, outfielder, senior, .267 average, 12 hits, 10  singles, two doubles.
Second team
Jake Dougan, junior, pitcher. 2-1, 1.53 earned run average.
Colby Suggs, junior, pitcher,  3-4, 2.42  earned run average.
Jace Jackson, senior, outfielder, 14 hits, 14 runs scores, four doubles.

Top 13-4A baseball players were recently selected for the all-district team by coaches.
Texas High, Hallsville, Marshall and Sulphur Springs made the playoffs.
The Tigers of Texas High got hot during their playoff run and won the Class 4A state baseball title.
It was the second time a team from 13-4A had won a state title in a sport this school year. Sulphur Springs won the Division II Class 4A title in football.
Most Valuable Player — Josh Turley, senior, Texas High
Offensive Player of the Year — Brett McAfee, sophomore, Pine Tree
Defensive Player of the Year — Tyler O’Bryant, senior, Marshall
Pitcher of the Year — Trevor Peterson, senior, Hallsville
Newcomer of the Year — Shane McQueen, junior, outfielder, Sulphur Springs
Sophomore of the Year — Logan Preston, sophomore, Texas High
Coach of the Year — Glen Welch, Texas High
First team
Pitchers — Caleb Dudley, senior, Randall Fant, senior, Texas High; Beau Bayless, junior, Marshall; Jason Jester, senior, Hallsville; Preston Inman, sophomore, Longview
Catcher — P.J. Talley, junior, Marshall
First base — David Perkins, senior, Pine Tree
Second base — Carlton Bailey, junior, Texas High
Third base — Lucas Quarey, junior, Mount Pleasant
Shortstop — Kolton Jones, senior, Sulphur Springs
Outfielders — Ben Barrows, senior, Sulphur Springs; Luke Wadley, senior, Pine Tree; Colton Roberts, senior, Hallsville; Cashe Jones, senior, Hallsville
Second team
Pitchers — Jake Dougan, junior, Colby Suggs, junior, Sulphur Springs; Trevor Moren, senior, Longview; Cody Heintz, sophomore, Mount Pleasant
Catcher — Michael Lammert, senior, Longview
First base — William Johnson, junior, Longview
Second base — Lane Stanley, junior, Longview
Shortstop —  Christian Stringers, senior, Hallsville
Outfielders — Jace Jackson, senior, Sulphur Springs; Caleb Adams, sophomore, Slade Heathcott, senior, Nathan Sorenson, junior, Texas High
Honorable mention — Mason Rawson, senior, first base; Jocko Spataro, junior, catcher; Tripp Reeves, sophomore, third base and Conner Brackhahn, junior, second base, Sulphur Springs.




mySSnews Login

User Menu