LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram Sports Lady Cats dominate All-District team

Lady Cats dominate All-District team

E-mail Print PDF

The 13-4A District softball awards 2009 were announced recently with Sulphur Springs dominating the postseason honors.

Getting top coaching honors was the Sulphur Springs staff. David Carrillo, along with assistant coaches Eric Buck, Michelle Barron and Rachel Curtis were honored as the team went 24-11 finishing district as the co-champions of 13-4A.

“It was a great, great group of kids,” Carrillo said. “A great acomplishment for our team was capturing a share of the first district championship since 2003. The area finalist finish on our season. It's hard to say goodbye to the kids that are seniors because they were such a special group but ther contribution to our program will not be forgottened.”


Carrillo was also grateful for the staff coaching honor and the other awards the team received.

“All those that received honors; superlative or all-district have every right to be proud. The great thing about all these honors is that we have so many girls returning next year. We should be in the mix of things next year,” he said.

Mac Morgan earned unanimous Defensive Player of the Year honors and Taylor Clifton was tabbed the Pitcher of The Year.

Morgan played a strong third base with a rifle for a right arm. She also hit .482 she led the team with 31 RBIs and 53 hits, stealing 15 of 17 bases.

Taylor Clifton was the Pitcher of the Year. Clifton was 8-5 with eight saves and a 2.25 earned run average. She struck out 109 batters in 115 innings, allowing just 14 walks.

Other honors in the district include:

Most Valuable Player

Ariel McDowell Pitcher, Senior, Texas High

Offensive Player of the Year

Brittany Eitel Catcher, Junior, Hallsville

Freshman of the Year

Jamie Allred Pitcher, Freshman, Hallsville (Unanimous)

Newcomer of the Year

Rebecca Horsley- R. Field/Pitcher, Sophomore, Marshall

First team


Amanda Harmon, Junior, Marshall


Brianna Hill, Senior,    Marshall


Jessica Davis, Senior, SS, Hallsville

Ashley Washington, 2B, Senior, Longview

Jenny Hudson,1B, Junior, Marshall

Rachel McJimsey, SS, Junior, PineTree

Brittani Crawford, SS, Senior, Sulphur Springs

Kaci Stilson, 1B, Junior Texas High


Channing Tharpe, CF, Junior, Hallsville

Anna Washington, RF, Junior, Longview

Kenzie Davis, LF, Junior, Marshall

Erika Barrington, CF, Junior, Pine Tree

Jamonica Hall, CF, Junior, Sulphur Springs

Designated Hitter

Hillary Hill, Senior, Hallsville

Second team


Angie Perez, Junior, Mt. Pleasant


Maurie Lewis, Junior, Sulphur Springs


Kaci Jackson, 1B, Freshman, Hallsville

Erica Devine, 3B, Junior, Longview

Rebecca Young, SS, Senior, Marshall

Katie Dodd, 1B,  Senior, Sulphur Springs

Krista McMahan, 2B, Senior, Sulphur Springs

Shanicquia Grant, SS, Sophomore, Mt. Pleasant

Second team


Morgan Peck, RF, Sophomore,    Hallsville

Ashley Gentry,CF, Senior,        Longview

Kelly Skelton,CF, Senior,         Marshall

Kemberly Meriwether, CF, Sophomore, Mt. Pleasant

Jalie Eppars, LF, Sophomore,    Sulphur Springs

Morgan Patton, RF, Sophomore, Texas High

Designated Hitter

T'Kea Johnson, DH, Sophomore, Sulphur Springs

Honorable mention

Kaci Kennedy, pitcher, Sulphur Springs

Kara Tomlinson, OF, Sulphur Springs


13-4A District Softball Awards 2009

Defensive Player of the Year 
Mac Morgan 3B, Junior

Pitcher of the Year 
Taylor Clifton- Junior

Coachings Staff of the Year
Sulphur Springs
David Carrillo, Eric Buck,
Michelle Barron, Rachel Curtis

First Team
All-District Infielders
Brittani Crawford, SS, Senior   

Jamonica Hall, CF, Junior
Second Team
All-District Catcher
Maurie Lewis , Junior            

Katie Dodd, 1B, Senior        
Krista McMahan, 2B, Senior    

Jalie Eppars,LF, Sophomore

Designated Hitter
T'Kea Johnson, Sophomore

Honorable Mention
Kaci Kennedy, Senior, Pitcher   
Kara Tomlinson, Sophomore, OF






mySSnews Login

User Menu