LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram Sports Wildcats face 'familiar foes' in new district

Wildcats face 'familiar foes' in new district

E-mail Print PDF

Special Contributor

    Sulphur Springs High School’s new district for the 2014-16 school years looks a lot like its current district — with a couple of additions.

    The University Interscholastic League announced its new district alignments Monday morning, and Sulphur Spring was placed into Class 5A for the next two years because the UIL expanded into classifications to 6A for the first time.
    For the Wildcats and Lady Wildcats the next biennium, the new District 15-5A looks similar to the current 14-4A, though the UIL placed two additional schools — Longview and Greenville — in the mix.
    District 15-5A for the next two school years will Sulphur Springs, Mount Pleasant, Texas High, Marshall, Pine Tree  and Hallsville (the current 14-4A) along with Longview and Greenville.
    "It's about the same district, we just add Greenville and Longview," said Greg Owens, Sulphur Springs head football coach and athletic director. "They are familiar foes, teams we have played before. It is what it is."
    Owens said the big change from UIL came from new enrollment qualifications for 1A through 6A were established and announced a month ago.
    "That took away any big changes,” he said.  “We knew what classifications the teams were in, we just had to find out the districts," Owen said. "It's about the same — four teams still make the playoffs."
    Owens said he was meeting with other coaches Monday morning and they were determining the order in which the games would be played.
    No matter the sport, the new eight-team district will mean fewer non-district games and a more crowded field for those four coveted playoff berths.
    As far as travel goes — which is the only criteria the UIL uses once schools are divided into classifications — Sulphur Springs players and fans are accustomed to driving to the Longview area and Greenville is just 35 miles away.
    The new district includes every sport except soccer. The new soccer alignment is expected to be released in about a month.
    Class 5A includes all schools in the state with enrollments between 1,060 and 2,099 students. Sulphur Springs, with an enrollment of 1,126, is the second-smallest school in the new district. Greenville is the smallest with a 1,070 enrollment while Longview is the largest with 2,066.
    When it comes to the playoffs, District 15-5A will face in the first round its East Texas neighbor, 16-5A, which includes Corsicana, Ennis, Jacksonville, Lindale, Lufkin, Nacogdoches, John Tyler and Whitehouse.
    Classes 5A and 6A were the only classifications in which the football districts were not divided into Div. 1 and Div. 2 for the regular season. In the other classes for football, the divisions are already made before the playoffs begin so that big schools and small schools in each classification are divided into separate districts.

Class 5A

    AUSTIN, Texas (AP) — The University Interscholastic League Class 5A football and basketball district alignments for the 2014-15 and 2015-16 seasons:

District 1 — Canutillo, EP Andress, EP Austin, EP Bowie, EP Burges, El Paso, EP Irvin, EP Jefferson, EP Chapin.
District 2 — EP Bel Air, EP Del Valle, EP Hanks, EP Parkland, EP Riverside, EP Ysleta, Clint Horizon, EP Harmony Science Academy (basketball only), EP Eastlake.
District 3 — Amarillo Caprock, Amarillo Palo Duro, Canyon, Canyon Randall, Dumas, Hereford.
District 4 — Abilene Cooper, Lubbock Cooper, Lubbock, Plainview, San Angelo Lake View.
District 5 — Azle, Denton, FW Boswell, White Settlement Brewer, Wichita Falls, WF Rider, Saginaw. Chisholm Trail.
District 6 — FW Carter-Riverside, FW Dunbar, FW Eastern Hills, FW Polytechnic, Grapevine, Lake Dallas, North Richland Hills Birdville.
District 7 — FW Arlington Heights, FW North Side, FW South Hills, FW Southwest, FW Trimble Tech, FW Western Hills, FW Wyatt.
District 8 — Aledo, Burleson, Cleburne, Crowley, Everman, Granbury, Joshua, Burleson Centennial.

District 9 — Frisco, Lewisville The Colony, Little Elm, Frisco Centennial, Frisco Wakeland, Frisco Liberty, Frisco Heritage, Frisco Lone Star, Frisco Independence.
District 10 — Denison, McKinney, Prosper, Sherman, Wylie, McKinney North, Lucas Lovejoy, Wylie East.
District 11 — Carrollton Creekview, Carrollton Smith, Dallas Adams, Dallas Hillcrest, Dallas Jefferson, North Dallas, Dallas Wilson, Dallas Conrad.
District 12 — Forney, South Garland, Mesquite Poteet, West Mesquite, Royse City, Terrell, Rockwall-Heath, North Forney.
District 13 — Dallas Adamson, Dallas Kimball, Dallas Molina, Dallas Samuell, Dallas South Oak Cliff, Dallas Spruce, Dallas Seagoville.
District 14 — Lancaster, Red Oak, Waxahachie, Mansfield Summit, Arlington Seguin, Mansfield Timberview, Mansfield Legacy, Mansfield Lake Ridge.
District 15 — Greenville, Hallsville, Longview, Longview Pine Tree, Marshall, Mount Pleasant, Sulphur Springs, Texarkana Texas High.
District 16 — Corsicana, Ennis, Jacksonville, Lindale, Lufkin, Nacogdoches, Tyler, Whitehouse.

District 17 — Elgin, Hutto, Manor, Pflugerville Connally, Temple, Waco, Waco University.
District 18 — Bryan, A&M Consolidated, Conroe Caney Creek, Huntsville, Livingston, Willis, Bryan Rudder, College Station.
District 19 — Brenham, Houston Spring Woods, Houston Stratford, Magnolia, Tomball, Waller, Magnolia West, Tomball Memorial.
District 20 — Houston Austin, Houston Davis, Houston Lee, Houston Madison, Houston Sharpstown, Houston North Forest, Houston Waltrip, Houston Yates.
District 21 — Crosby, Dayton, Galena Park, Sheldon King, Humble, Barbers Hill, New Caney, Humble Kingwood Park, New Caney Porter.
District 22 — Baytown Lee, Beaumont Central, Beaumont Ozen, Lumberton, Nederland, Port Neches-Groves, Vidor, Baytown Goose Creek Memorial.
District 23 — Galveston Ball, Santa Fe, Fort Bend Elkins, Fort Bend Willowridge, Texas City, Fort Bend Bush, Fort Bend Marshall, Fort Bend Ridge Point.
District 24 — Angleton, Port Lavaca Calhoun, Rosenberg Lamar Consolidated, Rosenberg Terry, Richmond Foster, Richmond George Ranch.

District 25 — Cedar Park, Dripping Springs, Georgetown, Leander, Marble Falls, Cedar Park Vista Ridge, Austin Vandegrift, Georgetown East View.
District 26 — Austin Crockett, Austin Johnson, Austin Eastside Memorial (basketball only), Austin Lanier, Austin McCallum, Austin Reagan, Austin William Travis, Bastrop, Bastrop Cedar Creek.
District 27 — Floresville, Kerrville Tivy, Lockhart, SA Alamo Heights, SA Kennedy, SA Memorial, San Marcos, Seguin, Boerne Champion.
District 28 — SA Brackenridge, SA Burbank, SA Edison, SA Fox Tech (basketball only), SA Harlandale, SA Highlands, SA Houston, SA Jefferson, SA Lanier, SA McCollum.
District 29 — Castroville Medina Valley, Laredo Cigarroa, Laredo Martin, Laredo Nixon, SA Southside, Somerset, Uvalde, Eagle Pass Winn.
District 30 — Alice, Corpus Christi Calallen, Corpus Christi Flour Bluff, Corpus Christi Miller, Corpus Christi Moody, Corpus Christi Tuloso-Midway, Gregory-Portland, Victoria East, Victoria West.
District 31 — Mission Sharyland, Pharr Valley View, Rio Grande City, Roma, Mission Memorial, Edinburg Vela, Sharyland Pioneer.
District 32 — Brownsville Pace, Brownsville Porter, Donna, Edcouch-Elsa, Mercedes, PSJA, PSJA Southwest, Donna North.




mySSnews Login

User Menu