LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram Sports Wildcats host MP in district hoop opener

Wildcats host MP in district hoop opener

E-mail Print PDF

    The boys District 14-4A basketball season begins for all teams tonight.

    The teams have been in scrimmages, non-district play and tournaments, now it comes down to the games which really count.
    “We are definitely excited and ready to start district,” said Jeremy Josey, Sulphur Springs head boys basketball coach. “Everything we do is to prepare for this stretch of games.”
    The Wildcats are 9-9 after non-district play. In their last outing, they fell 55-35 at the hands of a high octane Tyler All Saints team. The squad also has recent wins over Longview Spring Hill, Alvin, Lindale and Paris.
    “As coaches we always want our teams to play better. We didn’t play very well and weren’t very well-prepared for All Saints. But that is on us as coaching staff. Our guys are more prepared this season then my prior year simply because of our chemistry and understanding of what we want to accomplish.”
    The Wildcats host Mount Pleasant (4-9)  today to open district. Three games are slated for the high school gym, the varsity game will tip-off at 7:30 p.m.
    “Mount Pleasant has an athletic team with some size,” Josey pointed out. “They have about four guys who have been on varsity for several years. They are picked to finish third place in district.”
     Josey continued, “I think we matchup pretty evenly with them across the board, except inside. We must keep them off the boards and out of the lane driving to the basket.”
    The Tigers played their final non-district game Monday, winning 50-42 in Paris over North Lamar.
    Top scorers in that game for Mount Pleasant were D’Andra Fields with 16, K.D. Cannon 15 and Andrew Flanagan with nine.
    The roster for the Wildcats has changed in recent games with Larry Pryor, a 6-2 forward/post held out with an injury. He is expected to return for the game tonight.
    Other members of the varsity include: Isaiah Lacy, Jaylon Dugan, Darian Dial-Hall, Derick Ingram, Johnny Morgan, Javaron Ross, Cain Cody, Dillon Carpenter and Pryor.
    Marshall, 22-2, and ranked No. 25 in the state Class 4A poll, is the pick to win district. Also picked to make the playoffs are Texas High and Hallsville.




mySSnews Login

User Menu