LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram Sports 22 Wildcats get grid honors

22 Wildcats get grid honors

E-mail Print PDF

    Sulphur Springs had a total of 22 players get All-District 14-4A football honors.

    “We are excited for all of our players for these accolades. They have worked extremely hard and it is an honor to be recognized by the other coaches in our district. All of these young men are extremely deserving of these honors,” said Greg Owens,  Sulphur Springs head football coach.
    Willy Ivery was named the Offensive Player of the Year. Ivery had 1,673 yards rushing and 26 rushing touchdowns. He added five receiving scores.
    Larry Pryor in his first year as quarterback, was named Co-MVP of the district sharing the award with Anthony Rhone of Texas High.
    Pryor had 2,666 yards passing and 26 scores completing 59 percent of his passes.
    Other Sulphur Springs players getting honors were, Offense: Isaiah Lacy, Alex Burney, senior, first team receivers; Jess Jenkins, Landon Watkins (unanimous), first team offensive line; Dillon Carpenter, second team receiver; John McLarry, second team offensive line; Brady Carrell, honorable mention, offensive line. Defense: B.J. Stribling, first team safety; Dedric Smith, first team linebacker; Dekeiston Mosley, second team outside linebacker; Cain Cody, second team defensive tackle; Bryton Wood, Garret Hood, second team defensive ends; Brennan Brock, Melroy Givens, second team, cornerbacks; Zach Spigner, second team safety; honorable mention : Carson Hicks, defensive tackle; Dallas Dannheim, linebacker and Jaylon Dugan, cornerback. Special teams - Ryan Watson, second team kicker.




mySSnews Login

User Menu