LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram Sports Sulphur Springs advances in C-C

Sulphur Springs advances in C-C

E-mail Print PDF

    MOUNT PLEASANT — Sulphur Springs advanced both cross country teams to regional after standout performances Wednesday.
    The sunny skies and perfect conditions allowed the Lady Cats and Wildcats to run strong races.

    The Sulphur Springs varsity girls took second and the varsity boys turned in a third place finish according to coach Andy Holt.
    “The girls placed second with Madeline Massey leading the way for the girls,” Holt said. “Madeline placed second overall with a time of 19:25.  Madison Ramirez was not far behind placing fourth with a time of 19:39. Star Resendiz was our third runner with a time of 21:09.  Kezli Cook followed her with a time of 21:23, and then right behind her was Myranda Pierce with a time of 21:27.  Lauren Helm ran a 21:54 and rounding out the team was Caitlin Helm with a time of 22:40. It was a great team effort  as we needed everyone to compete.”
    Holt said, “ We actually tied Hallsville for secnd place with 56 points, but our sixth runner was faster, so we won the tie breaker and placed second. It was fun   to see some girls really step up and run with passion and purpose. We had several girls run personal best times today and that is all you can ask for from runners.  The girls placed third last year and are excited about the second place finish this year.”
     The Sulphur Springs boys had a third place finish. They were behind teams from Hallsville and Pine Tree.
    “The boys got  third with great team running,” Holt said. “We had four guys grouped together running for most of the race.  Jacob Gatewood pushed through at the end to lead the boys with a time of 16:44, then Tanner Ramirez followed with a 16:51.  Carter White was quickly behind Tanner with a time of 16:55 and Nathan Mabry was just a few seconds behind Carter with a time of 16:59.  These four guys worked all summer and all season making each one of them better.  Two of them ran personal bests and two were very close to their personal best.”
    The coach added, “Our fifth runner and a very important piece to why we advanced to regionals and it was Tony Velasquez.  He ran a 18:01.  Andrew Allen ran a 18:51 and Will Fain ran 19:10.  The boys beat Mount Pleasant by five points and it was critical that each guy run as fast as they were capable of running and the boys did that.”

Girls results
    Teams — 1. Longview Pine Tree, 36; 2. Sulphur Springs, 56; 3. Hallsville, 56; 4. Mount Pleasant, 92; 5. Texas High, 131; 6. Marshall.
    Top 10 Individuals - 1. Christina Nelson, Pine Tree, 18:54.4 ; 2. Madeline Massey, Sulphur Springs, 19:25.7; 3. Ally Bayne, 19:31.3; 4. Madison Ramirez, Sulphur Springs, 19:39.0; 5. Kate Suits, Longview Pine Tree, 20:04.4; 6. Emily Emerson, Hallsville, 20:04.8; 7. Alexis Beserra, Longview Pine Tree, 20:08.0; 8. Rachel Willis, 20:15; 9. Laura Oviedo, Mount Pleasant, 20:47; 10. Sarah Johnston, Longview Pine Tree.
    Other Sulphur Springs girls times,  places - 15. Star Resendiz, 21:09; 17. Kezli Cook, 21:23; 18. Myranda Pierce, 21:27; 22. Lauren Helm, 21:54; 25; Caitlyn Helm, 22:40. (Junior varsity) times, places - 2. Grace Grafton, 22:08; 11. Payton Pierce, 23:47; 16. Jessica Santana, 24:34; 19. Caroline Berning, 24:44; 20. Emily Sosa, 24;48; 24. Brenna Murray, 25:39; 27. Deanna Weidenbeck, 25:57; 36. Ana Miranda, 28:26.

Boys results
    Teams — 1. Hallsville, 36; 2. Longview Pine Tree, 52; 3. Sulphur Springs, 75; 4. Mount Pleasant, 80; 5. Texas High, 110; 6. Marshall.
    Top 10 finishers — 1. Evan Barron, Longview Pine Tree, 15:09.7; 2. Jarvis Grant, Texas High, 15;38.5; 3. Brian Thompson, Longview Pine Tree, 16:04.5; 4. Ryan McKelsey, Hallsville, 16:06.3; 5. Edgar Ramirez, Mount Pleasant, 16:10.0; 6. Jake Greer, Hallsville, 16:11.5; 7. Collin Pierson, Hallsville, 16:12.1; 8. Jorge Hernandez, Mount Pleasant, 16:15.4; 9. Matt Jones, Hallsville, 16:17.4; 10. Matt Godwin, 16:39.4.
    Sulphur Springs times, places — 11. Jacob Gatewood, 16:44; 12. Tanner Ramirez, 16:51; 14. Carter White, 16:55; 15. Nathan Mabry, 16:59; 23. Tony Velasquez, 18:01; 31. Andrew Allen, 18:51; 34. Will Fain, 19:10. (Junior varsity) — 12. Fernandez Ortiz, 18:16; 33. Cesar Andino, 19:29; 41. Nathan Brice, 19:50; 52. Daniel Santana, 20:36; 62. Dylan Scott, 21:29; 65. Tino Zapata, 21:47; 69. Seth Womack, 22:06; 78. Hunter Blanchard.
    Both Sulphur Springs teams will be competing in the Regional Meet on Saturday Nov. 2  at Lynn Creek Park in Grand Prairie.




mySSnews Login

User Menu