LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram Sports SS 7-on-7 wins Mineola finale; play Tyler SQT

SS 7-on-7 wins Mineola finale; play Tyler SQT

E-mail Print PDF

    MINEOLA — Sulphur Springs teams dominated all foes, sweeping Thursday 7-on-7 season finale action in the Mineola Tournament.
    The varsity took wins over Mineola and Mount Vernon.

    “Tyler Williams was very active defensively with two interceptions, while Zack Spigner also added one. Deandre Wright got his hands on numerous balls and Parker Aguilar at linebacker also came away with an interception,” said Matt Young, Sulphur Springs coach. “Offensively, Larry Pryor and Aguilar threw the ball with accuracy and confidence while moving the ball with good tempo. Alex Burney as always was a reliable target and Cain Cody and Isaiah Lacy continued to make tough catches. Parker Heath provided consistent hands on the slant and Dustin Fields continued to show some explosiveness as a slot receiver.”
    Sulphur Springs played one JV game and won in a very efficient outing.
    “As a group they wrapped up a wonderful spring,” Young added. “Quarterbacks  Tanner Ramirez and Drew McCullough spread the ball around, understood the offense and led their team to numerous victories. Bubba Hall, Scott Galarza and Cole Cooper were steady, explosive targets catching the ball. John Hogan was versatile on both sides of the ball along with Galarza and Hall deflecting passes on the defensive side. Tanner Graham progressed as a receiver, while Ronald Arellano progressed in understanding the defense.”

In the Tyler SQT set for Lindsey Park, the Wildcats had three consecutive games in pool play.
    Sulphur Springs is in Pool B. Games include - 9 a.m. - on Field 5, they face Crosby; 10  a.m. on Field 5, the Wildcats meet the John Tyler B team; 11 a.m., Sulphur Springs plays Longview on Field 6.
    The winner of Pool B will play the winner of Pool A. The winner of Pool C and D also meet.
    The semi-final games are at 12:45 p.m. on Fields 1 and 2.
    The championship game is at 1:45 p.m. on Field 2.
    Other teams in the event include: Whitehouse, John Tyler, Beaumont Ozen, Magnolia West, Alto, Pine Tree, Lindale, Jacksonville, Lufkin and Tyler Lee.     




mySSnews Login

User Menu