LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram Sports All-District 17-A baseball honors given

All-District 17-A baseball honors given

E-mail Print PDF

    The All-District 17-A baseball team was recently released with several players from teams in the area on the squad.

    Superlatives include, Most Valuable Player — senior, Walker Wharton,  Roxton; Offensive Player of the Year — Patrick Covington, junior, Miller Grove; Defensive Player of the Year — Colton Speights, senior, Cumby; Pitcher of the Year — Blake Brown, senior, Sulphur Bluff and Newcomer of the Year, Hunter Powers, sophomore, Sulphur Bluff.

    First team
    Pitcher  — Charlie Potts, senior, Cumby.
    Catchers — William Duke, senior, Roxton and Aaron Foster, senior, Honey Grove.
    Infield — Tyler Davison, sophomore, Saltillo; Collin Williams, senior, Justin Goldsmith, sophomore, Miller Grove; Brandon Spann, junior, Honey Grove; Blake Adams, junior, North Hopkins.
    Outfield — Erin Zeringue, Landon Earley, juniors, Sulphur Bluff; Luke Sartin, senior, Cumby; Jessie Willliams, junior, Cody Nix, senior, North Hopkins.
    Designated hitters — Dakota Miller, senior, North Hopkins; D.J. Lackey, senior, Cumby.
    Utility — Hunter Burnett, senior, Yantis and Silas Whaley, junior, North Hopkins.
    Second team
    Pitchers — Dakota Jones, North Hopkins and Aaron Smith, sophomore, Miller Grove.
    Catchers — Ryan Dougan, senior, Miller Grove and Cody Lemay, junior, Fannindel.
    Infield — D.J. Lipstraw, junior, Honey Grove; Dakota Emerson, sophomore, Sulphur Bluff; Quinten Stovall, senior, Miller Grove; Kevin Meza, junior, North Hopkins and Cody Anderson, sophomore, Cumby.
    Outfield — Rheston Sills, junior, North Hopkins; Nathan George, junior, Logan Miller, sophomore, Miller Grove; Cade Argenbright, senior, Sulphur Bluff; Dustin Heer, junior, Cumby.
    Utility — Dillon Newsom, sophomore, Roxton.

    Honorable mention
    Clay Mitchell, senior, Sulphur Bluff; Alfredo Orozco, Austin Oldham, North Hopkins; Trey Lester, freshman, Miller Grove; Justin Smith, James Evans, Jim Evans, seniors, Cumby; Jesse McGregor, junior, Yantis; Cade Daniels, Tyler Floyd, Richie Clover, Saltillo; Jacob Price, junior, Bobby Newman, freshman, Honey Grove; Dakota Lovelady, Chase Dake, juniors and Zay Green, sophomore, Roxton.




mySSnews Login

User Menu