LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram Sports 5 Lady Cats take all-district honors

5 Lady Cats take all-district honors

E-mail Print PDF

    Five Sulphur Springs players were named to the recently released District 14-4A girls basketball team.

    Desi Debase, sophomore point guard for the Lady Cats, received a superlative in the district. She was named Co-Offensive Player of the Year as she averaged 20.5 points 3.8 assists and 2.4 steals per game for the Lady Cats. Sharing the  honor was Mount Pleasant junior, Ledaisha Gillard.
    Other superlatives include - MVP, Chanell Hayes, sophomore, Texas High; Co-Defensive players of the year, Jalissa Trotter, sophomore, Texas High and Sky-Lyn Holmes, sophomore, Pine Tree; Newcomer of the year was Elisha Leathers, freshman, Hallsville. Coach of the Year, Vince Minter, Texas High.
    Sulphur Springs players named to the first team - Destiny Wade, junior and Kasey Moore, sophomore. Second team choices - Shakoja Debase, junior and Chrissalynd Person, sophomore.
    Wade averaged 9.4 points and 7.5 rebounds a game; Moore averaged 7.8 rebounds and 7.2 points; Shakoja Debase averaged 7.7 points and 3.6 rebounds a game.
    Other first team members - K’Tiana Davis,  LaMonica Morgan, Angel Crump, juniors, Texas High; Des’rae Mosley, Ra’von Morgan, seniors and Genesis Alvarez, junior, Mount Pleasant; Daneisha Patterson, McKaylia Baylor, seniors, Pine Tree; Nathalia Lomax, senior, Hallsville and Troymesha Smith, freshman, Marshall.
    Second team - LaKeisha Cannon, senior, Jasmine Walker, junior, Mount Pleasant; Ali Clayton, Jessica Lott, seniors, Texas High; Sheondra Clayton, junior, Pine Tree; Chabrea Mitchell, senior and Juneshaa Williams, junior, Hallsville; Myessa Ford, freshman, Marshall.  




mySSnews Login

User Menu