LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram Sports SS freshmen win district in baseball

SS freshmen win district in baseball

E-mail Print PDF
Nothing makes a head coach happier than knowing that the program is sound and a good flow of talent will be continuing to the varsity squad.
With the recent success by the Sulphur Springs JV and freshmen teams, the baseball program should be stocked for years to come.
“Prior to the season, the coaches heard quite a bit about this freshmen baseball class. They certainly have lived up to the expectations and that is a testament to them as well as the job coach Bruce Silman has done with them. They all have a very bright future and we are excited to see what all they can accomplish over the next three years,” said Jerrod Hammack, head varsity baseball coach.
The Sulphur Springs freshmen went 16-0 and won the district baseball title under coach Silman.
Silman was impressed not only that they won every game, but the way they notched the victories.
The team had some easy wins, taking some contests by 10-run rule margins. But the freshmen Wildcats also won the scrappy battles. Like the come-from-behind 9-7 victory to claim the district title. It was a win recorded in Texarkana against Texas High.
“It was fun to see, the kids really came together as a team. They worked well as a group and they were determined not to lose,” Silman said. “We don’t want to lose to anybody and especially not in district.”
Trailing on the scoreboard at Texas High is not exactly an ideal situation, but one which rallied the squad. Down on the road, they did not panic. They regrouped.
“They are a great group, they have been fun to coach. They like a challenge,” Silman said. “They all want playing time and that can be harde since we have about 20 kids on the team. They played as a team all year and showed a lot of character as the season progressed. Them playing together as a team and showing competitiveness tells a lot about this group.”
Members of the team are: Parker Aguilar, Landon Brock, Ben Brooks, Dillon Carpenter, Hunter Coleman, Hunter Crowson, Ryan Ferguson, Drew Forseman, Jonathan Gaddis, Carson Hicks, Kade Hudgins, Mason Maeker, Drew McCullough, Cameron McLaurin,  Ethan Phillips, Dylan Reed, Will Sant, C.J. Stephens, C.J. Stewart and Zach Terry.



mySSnews Login

User Menu