LoginCreate an account

  • Error loading feed data.
Home News-Telegram News State News Obama declares Texas disaster over Alex

Obama declares Texas disaster over Alex

E-mail Print PDF

WASHINGTON (AP) — President Barack Obama has declared parts of Texas a disaster area following the first hurricane of the 2010 season.

Obama's designation, announced Wednesday by the White House, clears the way for federal assistance over Hurricane Alex.

Alex made landfall June 30 in northern Mexico. Associated strong winds and heavy rain led to flooding in parts of south Texas.

The designation makes federal funding available to affected people in Cameron, Hidalgo, Jim Hogg, Maverick, Starr, Val Verde, Webb and Zapata counties.

Federal help is also available, for government and nonprofit groups, to repair or replace damaged facilities in Cameron, Hidalgo, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Maverick, Starr, Webb, Willacy and Zapata counties.

Gov. Rick Perry last week sought the federal disaster assistance.


Dallas/Ft. Worth News



mySSnews Login

User Menu