LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News Voters in four rural school districts elect trustees Saturday

Voters in four rural school districts elect trustees Saturday

E-mail Print PDF

New trustees were selected Saturday to serve on four rural school districts serving Hopkins County children. Although all election returns are unofficial until the canvassing by each district’s board in an upcoming meeting, all schools except Cumby will have one incumbent returning to serve those boards.

At Como-Pickton Consolidated Independent School District, Greg Anglin and incumbent Beth Hankins beat out two other challengers for both full term spots on that board. Anglin received the most votes, 88, and Hankins 78. Brad Carr came in not too far behind with 61 votes and Sherry Shadix trailed with 17 votes. C-P’s board is slated to canvass the election results and administer oath of office to newly elected board members during the district’s regular monthly board meeting, which begins at 7 p.m. Tuesday, May 12, in the high school library.

The unofficial tally in Cumby shows David Tremor in just ahead of Tammy Giles at the poles, 74-70, and Giles beating Heer by one vote. Challenger Bob Logue received 52 votes. Based on those figures, Tremor and Giles will be awarded the two full-term at-large seats on Cumby Independent School District’s Board of Trustees. The school board will meet in a special session Monday, May 18, at 7:30 p.m. to canvass the vote and certify returns.

North Hopkins  ISD will seat one incumbent and one long-time community member on its board later this month. Larry Spradlin beat out Robert Whaley in his bid for reelection to the school board, and in fact received the most votes of all candidates — a whopping 115. Incumbent Robert McPherson was also selected to serve on NHISD’s board another term, receiving 90 votes. Bruce Allen Joslin and Whaley trailed for the two full-term at-large seats with Joslin getting 56 votes and Whaley 25. The school board will meet Monday, May 18, to canvass the election results.

In Yantis, Tonya Norris, Margie Allen and incumbent Dr. Boyd McCreight beat out incumbent Shannon Young for the three at-large seats on that district’s board. Norris received 175 votes, McCreight 172 votes, Allen 159 votes and Young 72 votes. Yantis ISD Board of Trustees will canvass the results at 7 p.m. Thursday, May 14, in the conference room at the administration building.




mySSnews Login

User Menu