LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News Como-Pickton hosts 2009 FFA banquet and awards ceremony

Como-Pickton hosts 2009 FFA banquet and awards ceremony

E-mail Print PDF

On Tuesday, May 5, the Como-Pickton FFA held its annual chapter banquet, where a chicken fried steak and baked potato dinner was served, awards were presented, scholarships awarded and new officers announced.

At the banquet, three names were added to Como-Pickton FFA’s roll of honorary members. Those include Mark Humphrey and Troy and Kristy Hemmingsen. The DeKalb award was given to Lisa Lageschaar. The Ag Coop awards went to Lindsey Watkins and Sandra Steenbeek, and the Ag Science Student of the Year Award was presented to Jessica Clark.

Star Awards are as follows: Star Discovery, Kyle Forbes, Star Greenhand, Ryan Humphrey, Star Chapter Farmer, Mike Lageschaar, Star Lonestar FFA Degree, Lisa Lageschaar (Production) and Lindsey Watkins (Agribusiness). A new award this year was the Vet Tech award, which was given to Sandra Steenbeek and Lisa Lageschaar.

Three Como-Pickton FFA members were awarded scholarships at the banquet this year. Chelsey Coke was awarded $1,500 from North East Texas Livestock Association. Kaleb Mund received $1,000 from the Fort Worth Stock Show and Rodeo Calf Scramble.

Lisa Lageschaar was awarded scholarships from Fort Worth Stock Show and Rodeo Calf Scramble ($1,500), Leo Hoff Memorial Scholarship from the Texas Holstein Assn. ($500), State Fair of Texas ($5,000), and the San Antonio Livestock Show and Rodeo Dairy Judging Contest High Point Individual Scholarship ($10,000).

The 2009-2010 officers will be: President, Paige Cooksey, Vice President, Jenna Sturgill, Secretary, Jonathen Nolen, Treasurer, Seth Sturgill, Reporter, Hunter Cooksey, Sentinel, Kiah Sue Dunavin and Student Advisor, Mike Lageschaar.

As this busy year comes to a close, C-P FFA is anxious to begin the next, which will begin with a trip to the State FFA convention in Dallas. Seven students will receive their Lone Star degrees, the highest degree a member can earn in Texas.

This year’s banquet was a big success. The C-P FFA extends its appreciation to all that helped make it happen and congratulations to those who received awards.




mySSnews Login

User Menu