LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News UPRA hands out nearly $76K during three-day Spring Membership Rodeo

UPRA hands out nearly $76K during three-day Spring Membership Rodeo

E-mail Print PDF

The three-day United Professional Rodeo Association Spring Membership Rodeo, the season opener held at Hopkins County Regional Civic Center each year for the past 30 years, concluded Saturday with a lot of cash handed out to winners — nearly $76,000 overall. The largest single cash prize awarded in a contest over the weekend was, $2,062.56, for first place. Overall, $8,485 was handed out to eight winners in tie down roping. Tim Erickson took home the $2,062.56 first place win in tie down roping with a time of 7.81. Trent Walls’ second place time of 7.31  netted $1,632.86, while third place and $1,375.04 went to Chance Tinney, the third place tie-down roping finisher with a time of 7.33. Placing fourth with a 7.37 time was Randall Carlisle, who received $1,117.22. Fifth place finisher Ryan Thibodeaux’s 7.51  time garnered a $859.40 pay-out, sixth place finisher Cimmaron Boardman’s 8.55 time netted $ 687.52, seventh place finisher Clayton Hamil’s 8.6 earned $515.64, and eighth place finisher Quincy Kueckelhan’s 8.61 time earned $343.76.

Area barrel racing favorite Chani Payne’s 14.266 time ensured a first place finish and a $1,489.60 prize. The second place $1,179.29 prize in barrel racing went to Erica Hart with a 14.282 time. Finishing in third with 14.485 was Kyndall McCormick, who won $903.08. Coming in fourth with a time of 14.532 was  Raylee Self, who took home $806.88. The fifth place $620.68 prize went to Cheyenne Richards, who finished with 14.674. Sixth place finisher Keeley Carter’s time of 14.707 garnered $496.54 and, Lee Ann Graham’s 14.747  time put her in seventh, which drew a $248.27 prize. Overall, $5,744.34 was awarded to barrel racers over the weekend.

Three monetary awards,totaling $2,924.20, were handed out for bareback riding. Jake Brown took first place and the $1,462.20 prize with a score of 77. Troy Nail and Bill Tutor tied for second with a score of 75, and each went home with $731.10.

Only one cash prize was handed out in the ranch bronc category. The $768.40 first-place prize went to A.J. Hammett, who finished the contest with a score of 72.

The steer wrestling contest concluded with two ties, which meant the $7,027.35 in cash prizes was divided among nine individuals. Taking top honors and the $ 1,686.57 prize with a time of 3.6 in steer wrestling was Beau Clark. The $ 1,335.20 second place prize went to Mike Bush, whose time was 3.8. Finishing third with 3.9 was Todd Suhn; his prize was $ 1,124.38. Finishing fourth with a time of 4.0 was Jake Shaw, who took home $913.56. Jerad Pillans and John Lee tied for fifth with a 4.1 time; they each went home with $632.46. Josh Anderson’s 4.3 time secured a sixth place finish,which drew a prize of $421.64. Tied for seventh with a time of 4.6 each were Josh Hefner and Curt Newcome; each was awarded a $140.54 prize.

The top spot in breakaway roping, and the $1,432.19 prize, went to Jill Edwards, who came in 0.12 ahead of second place finisher Sadie Johnson whose time was 2.25. Johnson went home with $1,185.26. with a time of 2.13. Jayme Marcum placed third with a time of 2.31, and went home with  $938.33. Taking fourth in breakaway roping with a 2.5 time was Tine Hamilton, who earned $691.40. Keli Rula won $444.47 with a 2.54 time and overall fifth place finish. Sixth place and $246.93 went to Brandi Johnson, whose time was 2.58. Overall, $4,938.35 was handed out to the top six times in breakaway roping.

Only $3,521.20 in cash prizes were handed out in the saddle bronc contest. Top honors in the saddle bronc category was shared by Lane Barber and Jacobs Crawley, who each scored 80 points and went home with $1,232.42. Opting not to name a second place finisher, the UPRA awarded third place and $704.24 to Mike Johnson for his score of 78 point score. Finishing a close fourth with a score of 77 was Cody W. Smith; he was awarded $352.12.

In team roping, Quincy Kueckelhan placed not once but twice in the competition. He partnered with Dustin Davis for an overall time of 4.52, the second best, which garnered $1,095.48 for both partners. Kueckelhan also partnered with Joseph Flarrison for a 4.89 finish, fourth place ranking and $749.54 prize for each. Dillon Branson and Justin Copp went home with $1,383.86 each and the first place title for their 4.52 time in team roping competition. Jessie Austin and Rudy Austin completed the team roping event with a time of 4.81, which put them in third place and drew a prize of $922.51 each. Rounding out the category with a fifth place finish with a 5.00 time were Gibbs Keaton and Wayne Carter; they were awarded $576.57 each. Overall, $9,455.92 was handed out to the top five roping teams.

And last, but certainly not least, was the bull riding contest, which paid out $5,982.98 among eight finishers. In this category, there were three, yep three, ties. Tate Harris and Lucas Guilbeau each rode his way to the top with 85 points, enough for each to secure a $1,286.34 first place prized. With two firsts, who needs a second place winner? The next prize, third, was awarded to T.J. Pitman and Tyler Taylor, who each scored 82 point, and went home with $867.53. Tying for fourth were with a score of 80 each were Brant Atwood and J.W. Baker; each went home with $538.47. The fifth place prize of $358.98 went to Bronc Platt, who scored 78. Cole Allen scored 77 and went home with the $239.32 sixth place prize.

— Information provided by Hopkins County Rodeo Committee President Oscar Aguilar, and prepared by Faith Huffman, News-Telegram news editor.




mySSnews Login

User Menu