LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News SSMS One Act Play takes first place in district

SSMS One Act Play takes first place in district

E-mail Print PDF

Sulphur Springs Middle School took first place honors at the District 14-4A One Act Play Contest, with Hallsville Junior High earning second place honors and Texas Middle School in third.

The full cast and crew for SSMS includes Chloe Ross, Corbin Philo, Brianna Isham, Alice Lopez, Philip Rater, Aley Owens, Sami Harmon, Meredith Hooten, Kennedy Wensel, Elizabeth Yarborough, Camri Price, Jaci Reed, Taylor McElfresh, Lily Worth, Monica Mejia, Lucia Yanez, Rachel Bramlett, Abbi Beggs, Skyler Chote and Ethan Rogers. Amanda Brandenburgh is the director.

Seven SSMS students also earned recognition for their acting and technical abilities at the contest, Feb. 1 in Mount Pleasant. Jaci Reed was named  Best Actress. Rachel Bramlett, Taylor McElfresh, Camri Price and Elizabeth Yarborough received All-Star Cast awards. Ethan Rogers received Honorable Mention All-Star Cast. Brianna Isham received the All-Star Tech Award.

Local theater enthusiasts and fans will have an opportunity to catch the cast and crew’s final performance of scenes from Melanie Marnich’s “These Shining Lives” at 7 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 4, on the SSMS cafeteria stage.

The play is based on the true story of four women who worked in a watch factory in Ottawa, Ill. The play dramatizes the danger women faced in the workforce during the 1920s and companies’ lack of concern for the health and safety of its employees.




mySSnews Login

User Menu