LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News National Technical Honor Society inducts new members, recognizes returning members at Sulphur Springs High School

National Technical Honor Society inducts new members, recognizes returning members at Sulphur Springs High School

E-mail Print PDF

More than 50 students were honored Monday night during Sulphur Springs High School’s the National Technical Honor Society induction ceremony. Sixteen students were inducted as new senior members and 20 as new junior members, and at least 19 more were recognized as returning members of the Geral Kennedy Chapter of NTHS.

NTHS is designed to recognize outstanding student achievement in career and technology. The purpose of the group is to encourage higher scholastic achievement, cultivate a desire for personal excellence and help top students find success in today’s highly competitive workplace. 

The technical honor society is built on eight basic principles: knowledge, skill, honesty, service, responsibility, scholarship, citizenship and leadership. Introducing the principles Monday night during a candle ceremony were Chapter Secretary Micah Stieber, Treasurer Rebecca Halter, Vice President Jarius Grant and President Magan Smith. 

Thousands of schools and colleges throughout the U.S. and its territories have a chapter of NTHS society on their campus. 

The Sulphur Springs chapter of NTHS is named after Geral Kennedy, an educator for 37 years, 19 of which were spent at SSHS. He became the first vocational director in the 1966-67 school year. He was instrumental in the development of the vocational agriculture program at SSHS from the machine shop and marketing to vocational education hardship classes.

The vocational program continued to grow and flourish over the years on the foundation secured under Kennedy’s direction and that of many dedicated teachers, parents and community members, to become the career and technical program it is today. Kennedy retired in 1985, but he and his family have continued to be supportive of the vocational and agriculture programs. When chartering the local chapter, school officials opted to name it the Geral Kennedy Chapter to honor his many contributions to vocational programs.

Standard criteria for student membership is a minimum 3.0 grade point average, although the national average is 3.50 - 3.75. Many schools also look at credit hours completed, attendance, disciplinary records, and Career and Technical Student Organizations membership.

In order to become a member of the Geral Kennedy Chapter of NTHS, students must meet several criteria including: be a junior or senior at SSHS; maintain a 3.5 grade point average or higher; have three career and technology education class credits or be enrolled in three CTE classes; belong to a career and technology student organization, such as Business Professionals of America, Family, Career and Community Leaders of America, Future Farmers of America or Health Occupations Students of America; continue to remain in good standing with CTE; be involved in one community service project with CTE; and be involved in one group project a year to be determined by NTHS members.

Inducted Monday night as new junior members were Teresa Botello, Jessye Claire Castro, Ariel Elizabeth DeLong, Andrew Wade Forsman, Lindsey Christine Froneberger, Wendy Maribel Gallegos, Angelica Resendiz Guzman, Carson Bradley Hicks, Mary Lauren Humphrey, Mikayla Dawn Jones, Kelsey Breanne Kaufert, Becky Mae Matlock, Hannah Elise Mattison, Ashley Anne Neville, Nazareth Olguin Resendiz, Michael Ethan Phillips, Coen James Price, Emely Sosa, Taylor Shayne Swinson and Felicia Kay Thomas.

New senior inductees included Brennan Drake Brock, Shanequa Renee Cash, Hanna Marie Crouch, Viviani Cruz, Jaci Nicole Davis, Hunter Lance Elliott, Iris Lizbeth Gutierrez, Rachel Nicole Herrington, Paige Elizabeth Holt, Cindy Marie Law, Bailie Breann Modesitt, Alex Andrew Morel, Mekenzie Renay Mountcastle, Andy V. Negrete, Mariah Lee Spataro and Jacqueline Tovar-Yanez.

Recognized as returning members were Jessica Elizabeth Boyd, Alexandria Breann Chancellor, Taja Nicole Evans, Kara Mae Garner, Jarius Terrell Grant, Rebecca Caroline Halter, Haylee Elizabeth Hooks, Jennifer Haylee Johnson, Kiara Cartrice Johnson, Macy Kaye Johnston, Shannon Rashell Lucas, Kaitlin Elizabeth Maddox, Devin Gage Mitchell, Morgan Leigh Owens, Urviben C. Patel, Sydney Elizabeth Petersen, Magan Allyssa Smith, Micah Lynne Stieber and Robert Seth Stout.

The SSHS CTE teachers include Jenny Arledge, Joel Bailey, Belinda Brown, Kendra Daniel, Dan Froneberger, Bob Halter, Dannie Johnson, Trent Ledkins, Brandon Nelson, Amber Norris, Jeremy Offutt, Nancy Reese, Lynn Smith, Harold Smithson, Debbie Stinson, Tracy Stewart, Gina Wilder and Travis Hooks.

Refreshments, prepared by the SSHS culinary arts students, were provided afterward.




mySSnews Login

User Menu