LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News 23rd Annual MLK awards to be presented Jan. 20

23rd Annual MLK awards to be presented Jan. 20

E-mail Print PDF

    Awards for outstanding service and citizenship will be presented during the 23rd Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Awards Ceremonies Monday evening at 7 p.m. at Morning Chapel Missionary Baptist Church.

    Keynote speaker for the ceremonies sponsored by East Caney Missionary Baptist Church and Hopkins County African American Leadership Conference, will be Tom Sellers, a Hopkins County native and president and chief operating officer of Alliance Bank.
    Master of ceremonies will be Dr. Dan Jones, president of Texas A&M-Commerce.
    Pastor Harold Nash will receive the MLK Man of the Year award and Corine Snow will be presented the MLK Woman of the Year Award.
    The 2014 awards and honorees include: Spiritual, Thomas and Rose Peters; Freedom Award, Joe B. Finney, Harold Henson and Wilbert Roland; Medical, Dr. Bridgette Cocker; Spirit of Loyalty, Henry Turner; Humanitarian, Pat Higginbotham; Spirit of Dependability, Dwight Clayton; Social Change, J.D. Franklin; Legacy of King, Freddie Taylor; and Spirit of Service, Walter Ray Thomas.
    Achievement awards will be presented to Oscar Ramirez, Kelley Craig, Rita Taylor, Patricia Dorner, Pansy Bell, Frankie Hawkins, Audine Turman and David Gordon.
    Other achievement awards include: King’s Kids to Cheri Cooper; Choice of Excellence to Robert Latham; Leadership Award, Mike Lamb;  Youth of the Year, Willie Ivery; Family of the Year, Superintendent Nelson and Delane Gatlin; Music, Carlton Gordon; Evangelism, Patricia Cooper and Marcie Porter; Church of the Year, True Vine Fellowship; Political Award, Eddie Northcutt; Encouragement Award, Cleveland Vaden; Promise Land Award to Lt. G.K.  McLarry; Faithfulness, Melvin Person; Business, Margaret Sanders and Dean Falls; MLK Media Award, Kerry Craig; Employees of the Year, Brenda Rollison, Deanna Harris and Cheresha Godbolt; Law Enforcement, Lee Glenn; Spirit of Dedication, Betty Thompson; MLK Educators of the Year, Dr. Suzanne Thomas and Silvesta Alexander; Pastor of the Year, Joel Tiemeyer; and Spirit of Commitment, Donnie Wisenbaker.
    Sulphur Springs Independent School District MLK Scholars include Antonia Murillo, Mel Roy Givens, Destiny Wade and Larry Pryor.
    MLK Scholars from Texas A&M-Commerce are Harold Brown, Vincent Phillips, Monterrio Jones, Meioshei Nash, Ginger Simmons, Keith Booth, Danesha Peoples, Michelle Elimakor, Reavine Parker and Desiree Jefferson.
    Program personalities will include Tom Sellers, Dr. Dan Jones, Mick Trusty, Rep. Dan Flynn, Judge Robert Newsom, W.C. Pryor and Pastor H.B. Nash.
    The public is invited to the free event;  Alliance Bank and Wal-Mart will provide refreshments following the program.




mySSnews Login

User Menu