LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News Elections: Voters to decide $16M jail bond issue Tuesday

Elections: Voters to decide $16M jail bond issue Tuesday

E-mail Print PDF

Hopkins County voters will go to the polls Tuesday to decide the fate of a $16 million bond issue to build a new jail and help decide nine constitutional amendements.

Cumby voters will also elect three new school trustees and three city aldermen.

At issue for the entire county is whether to increase taxes by about 7 cents per $100 property evaluation to construct a new jail near the existing facility. County officials point to the need for a new jail due to overcrowding and structural issues that they say have plagued the facility for years.

In Cumby, school voters will elect three candidates for three-year terms on the school board. Those candidates are Dawn Gray, Carol Rose Allen, Jason Hudson, Joe Salinas, Jody Jarvis and Tony Aguilar.

City of Cumby voters will decide on three aldermen. Douglas Simmerman is running unopposed for a one-year term for Place 1. Place 3 candidates running for a two-year term are Monty Lackey and Cody Talley, while Place 4 candidates running for a two-year term are Bill Jenkins and Jackie Holley.

The polls will open for the general election at 7 a.m. Tuesday and will remain open until 7 p.m.

There are nine constitutional amdendment propositions that will be decided Tuesday as well. Those propositions are:

  • Proposition 1 — “The constitutional amendment authorizing the legislature to provide for an exemption from ad valorem taxation of all or part of the market value of the residence homestead of the surviving spouse of a member of the armed services of the United States who is killed in action.”
  • Proposition 2 — “The constitutional amendment eliminating an obsolete requirement for a State Medical Education Board and a State Medical Education Fund, neither of which is operational.”
  • Proposition 3 — “The constitutional amendment to authorize a political subdivision of this state to extend the number of days that aircraft parts that are exempt from ad valorem taxation due to their location in this state for a temporary period may be located in this state for purposes of qualifying for the tax exemption.”
  • Proposition 4 — “The constitutional amendment authorizing the legislature to provide for an exemption from ad valorem taxation of part of the market value of the residence homestead of a partially disabled veteran or the surviving spouse of a partially disabled veteran if the residence homestead was donated to the disabled veteran by a charitable organization.”
  • Proposition 5 — “The constitutional amendment to authorize the making of a reverse mortgage loan for the purchase of homestead property and to amend lender disclosures and other requirements in connection with a reverse mortgage loan.”
  • Proposition 6 — “The constitutional amendment providing for the creation of the State Water Implementation Fund for Texas and the State Water Implementation Revenue Fund for Texas to assist in the financing of priority projects in the state water plan to ensure the availability of adequate water resources.”
  • Proposition 7 — “The constitutional amendment authorizing a home-rule municipality to provide in its charter the procedure to fill a vacancy on its governing body for which the unexpired term is 12 months or less.”
  • Proposition 8 — “The constitutional amendment repealing Section 7, Article IX, Texas Constitution, which relates to the creation of a hospital district in Hidalgo County.”
  • Proposition 9 — “The constitutional amendment relating to expanding the types of sanctions that may be assessed against a judge or justice following a formal proceeding instituted by the State Commission on Judicial Conduct.”

Hopkins County voters will cast their ballots at their regular precinct voting boxes at the locations listed below:

  • Precinct 1 — Lutheran Church, 1000 Texas St. in Sulphur Springs
  • Precinct 1A — Sulphur Springs City Hall, 125 S. Davis St.
  • Precinct 2 — VFW Women’s Building, 1 Veterans Drive in Sulphur Springs
  • Precinct 2A — Senior Citizens Center, 150 MLK Blvd. in Sulphur Springs
  • Precinct 3 — New Beginnings Church, 155 North Jackson St. in Sulphur Springs
  • Precinct 3A — Grace Family Church, 1901 East Loop 301 in Sulphur Springs
  • Precinct 4 — Professional Ag Workers Building, 957 Connally St. in Sulphur Springs
  • Precinct 4A — League Street Church of Christ, 1100 South League St. in Sulphur Springs
  • Precinct 5 — Saltillo Community Center, 640 FM 900 north
  • Precinct 8 — Reilly Springs Community Center, 116 County Road 1439
  • Precinct 11 — Cumby Municipal Building, 100 East Main St.
  • Precinct 12 — Sulphur Bluff Community Center, 11865 FM 71 east
  • Precinct 13 — Como Community Center, 200 Gaskins St.
  • Precinct 14 — Pickton Community Center, 24 County Road 2418
  • Precinct 16 — Miller Grove Community Center, 7276 FM 275 south
  • Precinct 17 — North Hopkins School, 1994 FM 71 west
  • Precinct 20 — Ridgeway Union Church, 194 County Road 4786, Sulphur Springs
  • Precinct 23 — Weaver Baptist Church, 8749 US Highway 67 east
  • Precinct 24 — Dike Community Center, 6580 FM 69 north
  • Precinct 25 — Brashear Community Center, 901 US Highway 67 west
  • Precinct 36 — Arbala Community Center, 550 FM 1567 west



mySSnews Login

User Menu