LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News Schools: Two county districts to swear in trustees in November

Schools: Two county districts to swear in trustees in November

E-mail Print PDF

At least two local school districts will swear in new board members in November, but only one will be holding an election.

North Hopkins Independent School District had only three candidates file for three full term seats on the school board at the close of filing on Aug. 26. So, the seats will automatically go to those three individuals, negating the need for an election.

Lori Timko will serve another full term on North Hopkins ISD’s school board. Rachelle Sills will serve her first full term on the board; she was appointed earlier to finish the term of a board member who resigned. The new member joining the board will be Brian Lewis; he will replace Allen Joslin, who did not file for another term on the board.

Timko, Sills and Lewis will be sworn into office during NHISD’s normal November school board meeting.

Cumby ISD had six people file for three full-term seats on that board. Thus, the district will be holding a trustee election in November.

The district originally was scheduled to have only two slots available. However, a third seat became open as a result of a vacancy in the spring. Tony Aguilar was appointed in March to serve in David Barrow’s slot on the board of trustees. The school policy allows the appointed trustee to serve only until the next election, which in this case is Tuesday, Nov. 5. The term for that seat is reset beginning with that election.

Incumbents Jason Hudson and Jody Jarvis will be seeking another full term on Cumby’s school board, while Tony Aguilar is seeking his first full term on the board. They are challenged by Dawn Gray, Carol Rose Allen and Joe Salinas for the three seats  on the board. The seats are at-large, which means the three candidates receiving the most votes at the conclusion of the election will get the seats.

Hopkins County voters who reside within Cumby ISD can cast early ballots in person weekdays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Oct. 21-Nov. 1 at Sulphur Springs Public Library. Four days have also been designated for extended early voting by personal appearance: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 26, 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 27, and from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 29 and Thursday, Oct. 31.

Hunt County voters who reside in Cumby ISD can cast early ballots by personal appearance weekdays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Oct. 21-Nov. 1 at Hunt County Voter Administration office, 2217 Washington St. in Greenville. Hunt County also has two extended voting days scheduled, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 22 and Thursday, Oct. 24.

The election will be held at designated voting locations Tuesday, Nov. 5, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Consult election officials in the appropriate county for information on voting sites.




mySSnews Login

User Menu