LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News Voting: 2 county districts holding November elections

Voting: 2 county districts holding November elections

E-mail Print PDF

At least two county school districts will be holding trustee elections this fall. The deadline to sign up for a place on the November ballot began last month and continues through Aug. 26.

Cumby Independent School District has three spots to fill on the school board. The district originally was scheduled to have only two slots. However, a third seat became open as a result of a vacancy in the spring. Tony Aguilar was appointed in March to serve in David Barrow’s slot. The school policy allows the appointed trustee to serve only until the next election, which in this case is Nov. 5. The term for that seat is reset beginning with that election.

The two other spots on the school board are currently held by Jason Hudson, who is serving as president, and Jody Jarvis, a member at-large.

As of Tuesday, no one had filed as candidates for any of the three seats on Cumby’s board. Filing will continue in the Central Administrative Office, 303 Sayle St., during regular business hours through Aug. 26.

North Hopkins ISD will also hold an election Nov. 5 for three trustees to fill full three-year term slots. The seats are currently held by Lori Timko, Allen Joslin and Rachelle Sills. Incumbent Timko was the only one to file as of midday Tuesday.

Anyone interested in filing can do so by contacting Sharlene Brice at NHISD office during regular business hours through Aug. 26. All applications must be in by 5 p.m. Monday, Aug. 26.

Early voting will be conducted alongside county elections at the designated location Oct. 21-Nov. 1. Election day voting in NHISD trustee election will be held Nov. 5 at the school.




mySSnews Login

User Menu