LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News Elections: Voters will decide on school board, council seats Saturday

Elections: Voters will decide on school board, council seats Saturday

E-mail Print PDF

Area voters will go the polls Saturday to make their choices for city council and school board.


Ballots will be cast at Sulphur Springs Independent School District Administration Building, 631 Connally St., for places 4 and 5 on Sulphur Springs City Council. Election hours are 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. May 11.

Incumbent Freddie Taylor is challenged by Charles Oxford for Place 4 on the council, while incumbent Gary Spraggins is challenged by Emily Glass for Place 5.

In Yantis, voters will cast ballots for their top two candidates for school board Saturday in the foyer at Imogene Glenn Elementary School on the YISD campus. On the ballot, incumbents Mike Kinney and Joni Moreland are challenged by Colby Ogle. Both seats are for three-year terms on the board.

Voters will cast ballots Saturday at Como-Pickton Consolidated Independent School District for two trustee seats on the school board. Charlie Leigh-Manuell is challenging incumbents Greg Anglin and Beth Hankins. Each is for a full term of four years on the board.

Como residents will also have an opportunity to vote at the school Saturday for three places on Como’s city board. Incumbent Jerry Radney is challenged by Roy Darby for mayor. Incumbent Don Meeks is challenged by JoAnna Darby for street commissioner. Incumbent Philip Kincaid is challenged by Michael Corley and Darren Harris for water commissioner.

Sulphur Springs ISD was not required to hold an election as it only had three people sign up to run for three full, three-year term seats on the board. Leesa Toliver and incumbents Kerry Wright and John Prickette will take the oath of office during the 6 p.m. board meeting Monday in SSISD Administration Building’s board room.




mySSnews Login

User Menu