LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News Early voting underway for Como, Sulphur Springs city council positions

Early voting underway for Como, Sulphur Springs city council positions

E-mail Print PDF

Early voting started this morning for the May 11 city council elections  in Sulphur Springs and Como.
    On the early ballot in Sulphur Springs, incumbent Place 4 Councilman Freddie Taylor is being challenged by Charles Oxford in his bid for another term on the council.
    Place 5 Councilman Gary Spraggins is opposed by Emily Glass in his bid for reelection.
    Early voting for the Sulphur Springs City Council election is being conducted in the Council Room, 125 South Davis St., and will continue through Tuesday, May 7.
    Contested races appear on the Como City Council ballot for all three seats.
    Incumbent Como Mayor Jerry Radney is seeking another term in that office and will be opposed by former mayor and current Como Fire Chief Roy Darby.
    The street commissioner position on the three-person council, currently held by Don Meeks, will also be a contested race with Meeks seeking reelection against JoAnna Darby, who is the daughter-in-law of mayoral candidate Roy Darby.
    Three people have filed for the water commissioner position on the Como council. Michael Corley and Darren Harris are challenging incumbent Philip Kincaid for the post.
    Early voting for the Como City election is being conducted at the Administration Building at the Como-Pickton school on State Highway 11.




mySSnews Login

User Menu