LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News Mother's Culture Club donates over $12,000

Mother's Culture Club donates over $12,000

E-mail Print PDF

nt042713-Mothers-Culture-ClubThe Mother's Culture Club presented over $12,000 in donations and scholarships at their monthly meeting Thursday evening at Lou Viney’s Restaurant and Pub. 

The club, which raises funds throughout the year to give back to the community, selected worthy community organizations for donations, a student for a scholarship and sponsored a Hopkins County Dairy Festival Queen candidate.

Nine organizations benefitted from MCC’s generosity at the meeting. Heart of Hope was given $2,000, accepted by Mandy Godwin. Shadow Ranch Therapeutic Riding Center was given a donation of $1,000, presented to Marion Cox. Ayana Pryor accepted the $1,350 donation to Boys and Girls Club. Teen Court was presented $500, accepted Amy Griggs.  Lake Country CASA’s Gina Law accepted the $1,000 donation for the child advocates. Deidre Humphries picked the $500 donation for Project Graduation. Camp Braveheart was given $500, accepted by Alan McMillan. $500 were also donated to Sulphur Springs Workcamp, accepted by Julie Burgin. Boy Scouts were given $150, accepted by Crawford Johnson. 

Additional donations totalling in $4,000 were given directly to several families with specific and urgent needs, according to outgoing MCC President Holly Ragan. 

MCC’s annual college scholarship for $1,000 was presented to Sulphur Springs High School senior Toni K Cody. Cody was chosen from multiple applicants for the scholarship.

The Mother's Culture Club also sponsors a Hopkins County Dairy Festival candidate. This year’s sponsored candidate is Reilly Hale a junior at SSHS. Last year’s MCC-sponsored candidate, SSHS senior Molly Millsap, currently wears the Dairy Festival Queen crown. 

The club also had a change of officers at Thursday’s meeting. Outgoing officers from 2012 to 2013 include: president, Holly Ragan; vice president, KK McKenzie; secretary, Christie Phillips; treasurer, Lyndsi White; reporter, Chaney Johnson; historian, Jacy Moore; parliamentarian, Chandra Oud; and ambassador, Daci Rawson.

Incoming MCC officers for 2013-2014 are president, KK McKenzie; vice president, Natalie White; secretary, Kristy Brewer; treasurer, Maci Newsome; reporter, Chandra Oud; historian, Layla Highfield; and parliamentarian, Jennifer Moore.




mySSnews Login

User Menu