LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News Two school districts will host contested races

Two school districts will host contested races

E-mail Print PDF

    At the close of filing Friday afternoon, contested races had developed in two school trustees elections. A third district had only as many candidates file as positions up for grabs, negating the need for an election.

Como-Pickton CISD
    At Como-Pickton Consolidated Independent School District, incumbent Greg Anglin is seeking a second term on the board and Beth Hankins a third term on the board. They are challenged by Charlie Leigh-Manuell.
    The two seats on C-P’s board will go to the two candidates receiving the most votes. Each is for a full term of four years on the board.
Yantis ISD
    A contested race had developed for the two seats up for grabs on Yantis ISD’s board as well, quite a change from the start of the week. As of Monday afternoon, incumbent Mike Kenney was the only one to file as a candidate, which would have meant the board would have to appoint a second person to serve as trustee if no one else signed up.
    Later this week, however, Colby Ogle and incumbent Joni Moreland did turn in their candidate packets, pushing the list to three which makes an election necessary.
    The two seats on Yantis’ school board will go to the two candidates receiving the most votes. Each is for a full three-year term.

Sulphur Springs ISD
    Sulphur Springs ISD should be able to cancel their election. The district had only three candidates sign up for the three full three-year term seats on that school board. The seats will go to Leesa Toliver and incumbents Kerry Wright and John Prickette.
    This will be Prickette’s first full term on the school board. He was appointed in 2012 to serve the remaining 15 months of long-time board member Foy Williams.
    This will be Wright’s second full term on the board; he was appointed to finish out the rest of Carolyn Thomas’ term when she resigned in 2009, and was elected in 2010 to his first full term on the board, which expires in May.
    Although she has not served on SSISD’s school board before, Toliver has 30 years of experience as an educator.
    Incumbent Clay Johnson in February announced that he would not be seeking a third term on the board.

Early voting in all school, city and hospital elections will be conducted April 29-May 7 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.  Election day voting will be from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Saturday, May 11.




mySSnews Login

User Menu