LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News Candidate filing picks up in C-P, Yantis school board races; sign-up period ends March 1

Candidate filing picks up in C-P, Yantis school board races; sign-up period ends March 1

E-mail Print PDF

Candidate filing has picked up in  local school trustees elections in Como-Pickton and Yanits, while the filing in Sulphur Springs remains unchanged since last week.


    Candidate filing in all school trustees elections opened Jan. 30 and will continue through March 1.

    At Como-Pickton, both incumbents — Beth Hankins and Greg Anglin — have filed as candidates for the two four-year slots on that school board’s May 11 ballot.
    Beth Hankins is a registered nurse at Hopkins County Memorial Hospital. She has twins, Kaitlyn and Korey Hankins, who graduated last year from C-P High School. She is seeking a third term on the board, having first been elected in 2006.
    Greg Anglin operates a chicken farm. His children are currently attending CPCISD. He is seeking a second full term on the board.
    Both Hankins and Anglin beat out two other challengers for the seats on the board in 2009.
     To file as a candidate for the two full four-year term seats on the school board or more information about the election, see CP election official Lenise Boseman in the business office (the administrative building) weekdays through March 1 during regular business hours.
    The school board is slated to officially call for the May 11 election and consider renting voting equipment from Hopkins County at their February board meeting, which is scheduled Thursday at 6 p.m. in the CPHS library.

    As of Tuesday morning, incumbent Mike Kenney was the only one to file as a candidate for the two full three-year seats on the Yantis ISD Board of Trustees. He is seeking a third term on the board. Kenney was first elected to a full term on the school board in 2007 and was reelected to the position in 2010.
    The second seat on the board is currently held by Joni Moreland. She was first elected to the board in 2010, and as of Tuesday morning had not filed for reelection to second term.
    To file as a candidate in the May 11 election for the two full three-year seats, see Kristi Beech in the business office to pick up a packet.

    Three candidates, incumbents Kerry Wright and John Prickette and challenger Leesa Ann Toliver, have filed for the three seats on Sulphur Springs ISD Board of Education.
    Prickette filed for candidacy shortly after the filing period opened Jan. 30. He is seeking his first full term on the school board. He was appointed in January 2012 to serve the remaining 15 months of board member Foy Williams’ term on the board. Williams, who had served on the board since 2004, resigned from the board citing health reasons.
    Prickette is a division manager at Grocery Supply Co. in Sulphur Springs. His prior involvement with the school district includes co-chairing the citizens committee to support the bond proposal approved in 2009 and was instrumental in the Support Our Campuses and Kids adopt-a-school program promoted by the Chamber of Commerce.
    Wright also filed as a candidate on the first day of filing. He is seeking a second full term on the school board. He was appointed to serve the remainder of Carolyn Thomas’ term as trustee, when Thomas resigned in 2009 due to other out-of-town obligations. He was then one of only three to sign up as trustee candidates for three seats on the board in the May 2010 election.
    Wright is the president of Copy Products Imaging Inc. in Sulphur Springs. He is currently serving his second year as vice president of the board. He has also served as school board secretary.
    Toliver became the third candidate for the SSISD board when she handed in her packet Monday, Feb. 4.
    Toliver has 30 years of experience as an educator. She holds certifications in elementary self-contained, early childhood education-handicapped, kindergarten, elementary art, educational diagnostician, mid-management administrator, is a registered professional educational diagnostician and a certified mediator.
    This marks Toliver’s second straight year to seek a position on the school board. She challenged incumbents Jason Dietze and Don Sapaugh for their seats on the board last year and was defeated 659 and 658 votes to 601 votes.
    Clay Johnson currently sits in the third seat on the board. He said following the February school board meeting that he will not seek another term on the school board. Johnson said he had held off making an announcement while he considered whether or not to seek a third term on the board. He said he’s enjoyed the opportunity to serve two full terms on the school board and has learned quite a bit about school operations and education in that time, but after serious consideration has opted at this time not to seek a third term on the board.
    Anyone interested in filing to become a candidate for the three full-year at-large seats on the school board should contact elections officer Judy Gregg in the tax office of SSISD Administration Building, 631 Connally St. Filing continues during regular business hours, weekdays through March 1 in the tax office.
    The election is slated for May 11. However, if only three people sign up as candidates an election would not be required; they would be awarded the seats on the school board.
    Should an election be required, early voting will be conducted from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays April 29-May 7, at City Hall, 125 South Davis St. Applications for ballots by mail should be mailed to Gayle Roberts at the above address and received no later than May 3. Election day voting would be from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. May 11 in SSISD Administration Building.
    Michael Wolf was approved Monday night by district trustees to serve as SSISD election judge and Cecile Bagwell as altenate judge, and four approved people can be appointed as voting clerks for the election.




mySSnews Login

User Menu