LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News Filing period continues for three school districts

Filing period continues for three school districts

E-mail Print PDF

The filing period for candidacy in May trustee elections is under way at two rural school districts which serve children in Hopkins County, as well as in Sulphur Springs.


The filing period for school board candidates in all school districts holding spring trustee elections began Wednesday, Jan. 30, and continues weekdays during business hours at each school through March 1.

In Yantis, candidates need to see Kristi Beach in the business office to pickup their packet and file as candidates in the May 11 election for the two full three-year seats on Yantis Independent School District’s Board of trustees. Mike Kenney and Joni Moreland are currently serving the two terms expiring in May. The school board is slated to officially call for the May 11 election during their Feb. 11 meeting. Kinney was reelected to a second term on the school board in 2010, and Moreland to one full term in 2010.

Como-Pickton trustees in 2012 opted to continue holding elections in May but only in odd numbered years, they also voted to extend the terms for trustees from three to four years each, school election officials noted in August 2012. Thus, three trustees would be elected to four-year terms one year and four trustees elected to four year terms two years later, with elections in May. Lenise Boseman, business manager, is CP’s elections official; her office is located in the administration building.

Incumbents elected to three-year terms on the school board in 2010 were Mark Humphrey, Gerald Walters and Jana Andrews. Walters, a retired educator, finished out the last few months of Alan Screws’ term in 2004, was elected to a full three-year term in 2004, then reelected again in 2007 and 2010. Humphrey served two consecutive terms on the board, elected in 2003 and reelected in 2006. He opted to take a year off in 2009, and filed and was elected to the board again in 2010. Andrews is completing her first full term on the school board.

In Sulphur Springs, two people  — incumbents Kerry Wright and John Prickette — had filed for three full three-year terms on the school board as of 11 a.m. Friday. Filing is conducted in the tax office at Sulphur Springs Independent School District Administration Building. Candidates should see Judy Gregg, who pulls double duty as both tax collector and elections officer, to sign up.

Prickette is seeking his first full term on the school board; he was appointed in January 2012 to serve the remaining 15 months of board member Foy Williams’ term on the board. Wright is seeking a second full term on the school board; he was appointed in 2009 to serve the remainder of Carolyn Thomas’ term as trustee. Wright was then one of only three to sign up as trustee candidates for three seats on the board in the May 2010 election, ensuring him a seat on the board. 

The third seat on the board to be determined in the May 11 election is held by Clay Johnson. He was first elected to the school board in 2007. As of lunch Friday, Johnson had not filed for reelection.

For more information about the May 11 trustee elections, contact the elections official at the appropriate district.




mySSnews Login

User Menu