LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News SSHS: 41 students inducted into technical honor society named for Geral Kennedy

SSHS: 41 students inducted into technical honor society named for Geral Kennedy

E-mail Print PDF

Sulphur Springs High School rec- ognized Geral Kennedy Monday night for his many contributions to vocational programs in Sulphur Springs and the area, and inducted 41 career and technology education students as members of the newly-created SSHS chapter of the National Technical Honor Society.


Geral Kennedy was an educator for 37 years, 19 of which were spent at SSHS. He became the first vocational director in the 1966-67 school year.

He was instrumental in the development of the vocational agriculture program at SSHS from the machine shop and marketing to vocational education hardship classes.

The vocational program continued to grow and flourish over the years on the foundation secured under Kennedy’s direction and that of many dedicated teachers, parents and community members, to become the career and technical program it is today. Kennedy retired in 1985, but he and his family continue to be supportive of the vocational and agricul- ture programs.

In honor of his work and dedication, SSHS invited the Kennedy family to Monday night’s National Technical Honor Society induction to pub- licly recognize Kennedy, for whom the local NTHS chapter is named. A plaque was given to commemorate the honor.

Monday night, SSHS officially joined 360 other Texas chapters, and thousands of other schools and col- leges throughout the U.S. which have a NTHS chapter on their campuses with the induction of 41 members — 21 senior members and 20 junior mebers.

NTHS is built on eight basic principles: knowledge, skill, honesty, service, responsibility, scholarship, citizenship and leadership. The program is designed to rec- ognize outstanding student achievement in career and technology. The purpose of the group is to encourage higher scholastic achievement, cultivate a desire for personal excellence and help top students find success in today's highly competitive workplace.

Originally established 1984 as the National Vocational-Technical Honor Society, the honor society continues to encourage active partnerships between the school and local businesses and industry, encourage parent and family involvement in the educational process and encourage service learning in the community. Because of NTHS’ relationship with industry, it can provide potential opportunities for members to be recruited by top corporations, colleges and universities. Student members of NTHS are also eligible to apply for scholarships, according to NTHS.

In order to become a member of the Geral Kennedy Chapter of NTHS, students must meet several criteria including the following: be a junior or senior at SSHS; maintain a 3.5 grade point average or higher; have three career and technology education class credits or be enrolled in three CTE classes; belong to a career and technology student organization, such as

Business Professionals of America, Family, Career and Community Leaders of America, Future Farmers of America or Health Occupations Students of America; continue to remain in good standing with CTE; be involved in one community service project with CTE; and be involved in one group project a year to be determined by NTHS members.

Inducted as senior members of NTHS were Veronica Noelle Bailey, Talon Thomas Bell, Ryann Elizabeth Cathey, Jarred Glen Cowley, Destiny Shanay Fountain, Colten Reese Froneberger, Irais R. Gonzalez, Sarah Catherine Halter, Brenda Sanchez Hernandez, Kristopher Chase Koon, Emily Lynn Martin, Justin Lee Mathews, Meagan Layne McCullough, Evangelio Mark Meek, Kaylan R. Miller, Molly M. Millsap, Sammie K. Nguyen, Emily Ann Petty, Caden Clay Price, Dalton Jesse Rutherford and Rowdy Cole Sachs.

The 20 junior members inducted into NTHS Monday included Jessica Elizabeth Boyd, Alexandria Breann Chancellor, Taja Nicole Evans, Kara Mae Garner, Jarius Terrell Grant, Rebecca Caroline Halter, Haylee Elizabeth Hooks, Jennifer Haylee Johnson, Kiara Cartrice Johnson, Macy Kaye Johnston, Shannon Rashell Lucas, Kaitlin Elizabeth Maddox, Gino Alexander Medina, Devin Gage Mitchell, Morgan Leigh Owens, Urviben C. Patel, Sydney Elizabeth Petersen, Magan Allyssa Smith, Micah Lynne Stieber and Robert Seth Stout.




mySSnews Login

User Menu