LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News Hopkins County turns out for early voting

Hopkins County turns out for early voting

E-mail Print PDF

    Early voter turnout has kept election judges and poll workers busy the past two weeks, according to County Clerk Debbie Shirley, who also serves as Hopkins County elections administrator.

    By the end of the early voting period at 5 p.m. Friday, more than 6,000 of the county’s more than 21,000 registered voters were expected to have cast early ballots in the general election. An official count was not yet available as of Saturday morning.
    The elections administrator said that in addition to those votes made in person at the early voting box, a large number of mail ballots have been sent out and will be accepted until the close of voting next Tuesday.
    On the general election ballot, along with the presidential race, the Hopkins County portion of the general election ballot is highlighted by the race between Democrat Clay Johnson and Republican Eddie Northcutt for judge of the Eighth Judicial District and the race between Will Ramsay and Steve Lilley for district attorney.
    Also on the ballot is the race for the office of Hopkins County Precinct Two Constable, which covers commissioner precincts three and four, essentially the northern half of the county. Bill Allan is the Republican Party nominee for the office and Bobby Neal is the Democratic nominee.
    In Hopkins County Precinct Three there is the three-way race between Republican Wade Bartley, Democrat Billy Emerson and independent candidate Andy Wright.
    Hopkins County native VaLinda Hathcox, a Democrat, and Libertarian Thomas Griffing are challenging incumbent Congressman Ralph Hall for United States Representative, District 4.
On the city of Sulphur Springs ballot, there are two propositions involving the legal sale of alcoholic beverages within the city limits.
    On proposition one, voters can vote either for or against “the legal sale of beer and wine for off-premise consumption only.”
    On proposition two, voters can vote either for or against “the legal sale of mixed beverages in restaurants by food and beverage certificate holders only.”
    The Cumby Independent School District election will fill two at-large seats on the Cumby ISD Board of Trustees in the November election.
    Those candidates are Angie Allen, Renee Seeley, Tammy Giles and David Tremor.
    In the Cumby city election, Kathy Hall-Carter is unopposed for the office of mayor as is Wanda Wallace for Alderman Place 1.
    Bill Jenkins, Steve Carter and Lisa Taylor are locked in the race for Cumby Alderman Place 2.
    Cumby voters also have the opportunity to continue the .25 percent local sales and use tax to continue to provide revenue for maintenance and repair of municipal streets in Cumby.
    Three school trustee seats will be filled in the Saltillo school district. The candidates for Place One are Mark Sustaire and Kim Jones Moore, for Place Three on the Saltillo Board are Chad Neal  Josh Redar,  and Randy Johnson.  Scott Smith are seeking the Place 5 seat on the Saltillo ISD board.
    The polls will open for the general election at 7 a.m. Tuesday and will remain open until 7 p.m. Voters will cast their ballots at their regular precinct voting boxes.




mySSnews Login

User Menu