LoginCreate an account

  Username: Password:
Home News-Telegram News

Local News

Good People Doing Good Things

A ‘vaulted’ present
City National Bank President and CEO Lee Teetes (left) hands CNB Vice President and Adult Leadership Class member Brandon Brewer a $500 donation for the courthouse vault door restoration, which is the class project this year. The bank challenges other area banks to meet or exceed their amount.  Staff Photo by Jessica Worth.

Good Kids Doing Good Things

Put it there, buddy
Tiger Cubs Logan Schumacher (left) won first place and Grant Griffin won second place during the district Pinewood Derby race held Feb. 14 at First United Methodist Church in Mount Vernon. Submitted Photo



Blue and Gold banquet
Pack 69 held their Blue and Gold banquet on Feb. 17 at First United Methodist Church. Pictured are, left to right, (front) Dakoto Wyatt, Peyton Arden, Sam Gilbreath, Logan Schumacher, Eli Sellers, Brandon Hodges, Alex Rodriguez, (back) Kolson Hale, Hunter Jisha, Jace Evans, Grant Griffin, Ridge Jisha and Kaden Evans. Submitted Photo.

Annual J.D. Franklin Influential Citizens awards ceremony set Feb. 28

Nearly two dozen community members will be recognized Saturday, Feb. 28, for their religious and civic contributions and ministrations during the 3rd Annual J.D.Franklin Influential Citizens of Sulphur Springs/Hopkins County Awards Ceremony.

“The focus of the program this year is to reward those who have a religious and civic responsibility and a sense of duty to serve within the community,” notes Dr. M. LaVelle Hendricks, president Hopkins County African American Leadership Conference, the organization hosting the event.

The program begins at 6 p.m. Feb. 28, in Cypress District Building, 400 Como St. The event is free to the public, and all are encouraged to attend and show appreciation to and support for this year’s recipients. Free food will be provided for everyone in attendance following the ceremony.

This year’s honorees include: Broderick Godbolt, Cordell Jackson, Lester Henley, Robert Harris, Bee Dugan, Carolyn McKinney, Beth Wisenbaker, Bobby McDonald, Butch Adams, Clayton McGraw, Gilbert Roland, James Hulen, Jason Cunningham, Jo Marie Neal, Joel Tiemyer, Oscar Aguilar, Tom Sellers, Lillian Fralin, Lewis McGill, Lewis Hawkins and Ronald Lewis.

Honorees are asked to arrive at least 30 minutes prior to the beginning of the program to be seated for the event. Those designated to receive an award who will be unable to attend are asked to please notify HCAALC in advance by calling 903-450–3951. Requests for more information about the 3rd Annual J.D. Franklin Influential Citizens of Sulphur Springs/Hopkins County Awards Ceremony may also be directed to the above number.

Recipes, past Fall Fest leaders sought

Hopkins County Fall Festival may be months away, but planning and preparation for the annual event are in full swing.


Cumby Elementary sets round-up

Cumby Elementary will hold a its annual Pre-Kindergarten and Kindergarten Roundup on Wednesday, March 4.

Page 1070 of 1086



mySSnews Login

User Menu