Two education classes for minors and one counselor preparatory class will be offered next month at Texas A&M University-Commerce by First Service Alcohol and Drug Education Program.
The first class, tobacco education, is for minors required by the 75th Texas Legislature in the Texas Health & Safety Code to complete a tobacco awareness course.
This class is for anyone under the age of 18 who is caught purchasing, possessing or using tobacco products in Texas. In addition to the class, the youth has to pay a fine which may be set at up to $250, perform community service and lose their drivers’ licenses for up to 180 days.
The tobacco education class for minors, which uses Texas Adolescent Tobacco Use and Cessation curriculum, will be held from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. July 13, 15, 20 and 24, in room 234 of Binnon Hall at Texas A&M-Commerce. The youth must attend all classes to get the credit. The course costs $80 per person.
The second course is an alcohol class for minors. It too is offered for those required to take the course due to alcohol-related offenses. The class will be held from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. Friday, July 17, and from 9 a.m. to noon on Saturday, July 18, in room 234 in Binnon Hall at TAMU-C. Attendance is required at both sessions. The cost for the class is $75 per person.
The third session is a prep course targeted at individuals working toward certification as a Texas Licensed Chemical Dependence Counselor.
The course is designed to help participants: develop their case study for the oral presentation; review study materials for the written exam; and complete all paper work required by the state.
The prep class will be held from 1 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. Saturday, July 18, in room 234 of Binnon Hall at TAMU-C. Cost is $75 per person, and space is limited so early registration is encouraged.
For information about First Service Alcohol and Drug Education Programs go online to www.firstservicealcohol.com
|< Prev||Next >|