LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News Incumbent Walker files for re-election to council

Incumbent Walker files for re-election to council

E-mail Print PDF

Incumbent Sulphur Springs City Councilman Clay Walker signed up for re-election to his Place 2 seat Monday afternoon, finishing up the largest slate of candidates in municipal elections in years.

Walker signed up with less than an hour left in the filing period, which closed at 5 p.m. Monday. Another candidate, Jordan Horne, also filed Monday afternoon to run for the Place 1 seat currently held by Garry Jordan.

Walker was the last of five men to file for the Place 2 post he has held since 2002, when he was appointed to fill the unexpired term of Mike Shing. Walker faced no opponents in 2003 or 2006.

But that’s far from the case in 2009. Walker is joined in the race by Claude Walter, owner of AES Walterstart; Bradley Edge; Steve Carmody, manager at Lowe’s; and Allen Vaughan, who is retired.

Place 2 is not the only contested seat on the council in this year’s election, as the race for Garry Jordan’s Place 1 council post also drew multiple candidates.

Craig Johnson, a Sulphur Springs native and owner of Kramerica Outdoor Advertising, was the first person to declare candidacy for any of the three seats up for election this year, filling out his application form to run for the Place 1 seat almost as soon as the filing period began.

Garry Jordan, the incumbent in Place 1, filed for re-election on Thursday. Then, Jordan Horne became the third person to file candidacy in the race Like Walker, Horne filed for candidacy in the waning hours of the sign-up period.

One other seat on the council is also up for election, but incumbent Oscar Aguilar won’t have to worry about returning for a second three-year term. He was the only person to file in Place 3, virtually assuring he will be automatically re-elected.

Municipal elections will be held on Saturday, May 9.  Early voting is scheduled to begin Monday, April 27, and continue until May 5. Thursday, April 9, is the last day to register to vote in the election.




mySSnews Login

User Menu