LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News Deadline to file for school board elections is Monday

Deadline to file for school board elections is Monday

E-mail Print PDF

Anyone planning to run for a trustee slot in the May 9 school board elections at any local school has until the close of the business day Monday to get their applications completed and turned in. So far, only two local districts have reported enough candidates filing to require an election.

At noon Friday, North Hopkins Independent School District had four signed up for two full-term slots on that school board. Incumbents Robert Whaley and Robert McPherson are challenged by Larry Spradlin and Bruce Allen Joslin in their bids for re-election to the board. Filing in the May 9 election for both seats will continue until 5 p.m. Monday, March 9, in the front office at the school. For more information, call 903-945-2192.

At 1 p.m. Friday, Cumby Independent School District reported three people signing up for two places, which will require an election for the at- large seats. Incumbent Jesse Heer is challenged in his bid for reelection by Tammy Giles and David Tremor. David Petty who currently serves in the other seat to be determined May 9, had not filed for candidacy Friday. Candidate filing for the full term seats will continue in the administration office from 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday. For more information, call 903-994-2261.

Como-Pickton and Sulphur Springs school districts reported exactly two signed up for two slots, while Yantis had only one sign up for the three spots on its board.

Dr. Boyd McCreight, incumbent, was the only person to file for one of the three trustee seats on Yantis’ school board. Shannon Young currently serves in one of the two other seats. The third seat  was held by the late Ron McKinney, who died in January. Candidate filing will be conducted Monday during regular school business hours in the YISD business office. Contact Kristi Beech at 903-383-2463 for more information.

Unless additional people sign up by the 4 p.m. deadline Monday, Como-Pickton will not have to hold a trustee election for the two seats currently held by Beth Hankins and Mark Humphreys. As of earlier in the week, incumbent Hankins was the only incumbent signed up for the May 9 trustee election.

Brad Carr, who previously served on the board, is also seeking one of the two full term seats on C-P’s board.

Candidate filing will continue from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday in the C-P business office. Contact Lenise Boseman at 903-488-3671 for more information.

Sulphur Springs Independent School District may not have to hold an election either, if no additional candidates file for election. Friday afternoon, two candidates had filed for two full term seats. Incumbent Don Sapaugh is seek a second term on the board. Sapaugh currently serves as president of the school board. Jason Dietze also signed up to run for one of the two at-large seats. Dietze currently serves as youth pastor at First United Methodist Church. Judy Gillem currently holds the other seat, but as of Friday, had not filed for reelection. To file for candidacy in the May 9 school board election, contact Judy Gregg Monday, March 9, during regular business hours in the tax office at SSISD Administration Building, 631 Connally St.




mySSnews Login

User Menu