LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News Recognized by SSISD: 2 graduates, 5 media outlets

Recognized by SSISD: 2 graduates, 5 media outlets

E-mail Print PDF

School officials Monday took time at the beginning of the regular trustees meeting to recognize two students and this year’s Media Honor Roll recipients.

First Sulphur Springs High School Principal Josh Williams presented Nicholas McElfresh with a diploma of graduation and recognized Marlene Cardena, who was unable to attend the Monday night to accept her diploma, as also having met graduation requirements.

“We have this neat and unique opportunity at this time to recognize these individuals,” said Sulphur Springs Independent School District Board of Trustees Vice President John Prickette during the “graduation ceremony” during the public forum portion of Monday night’s board meeting.

When asked what his plans for the future are, McElfresh said his immediate goal is to continue his education at college.

Superintendent Mike Lamb also recognized nine individuals SSISD nominated to Texas Association of School Board 2014 Media Honor Roll for their “fair and balance reporting, providing valuable information to the community about public schools, their students, parents and patrons.”

Lamb explained that while districts aren’t required to nominate media for the honor, SSISD annually chooses to do so in an effort to thank those individuals for the positive way they report on SSISD. He said while officials could opt to choose one individual or one for each type of media outlet, they selected all nine for their individual contributions throughout the past year. 

“This is an opportunity for us to say thank you to local media outlets. You do it and do it phenomenally,” Lamb said.

Prickette too offered thanks on behalf of SSISD trustees.

“School districts are critical to community growth. School districts in the public media is critical. How you are perceived can make you or break you by school,” said Prickette, extending appreciation to each recipient for their contributions which meet the criteria for the honor roll.

TASB 2014 Media Honor Roll recipients recognized by SSISD Monday night with certificates were Scott Keys, Jon Lance and Faith Huffman from the Sulphur Springs News-Telegram; Don Julian, Enola Gay Mathews and Doug Haston of KSST Radio/Channel 18 TV; Dave Kirkpatrick, KSCH Star Country Radio; Moose Morgan, Thunder Country Radio; and Bobby McDonald Front Porch News.




mySSnews Login

User Menu