LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram Sports Five Wildcats get all-district honors

Five Wildcats get all-district honors

E-mail Print PDF

News-Telegram Sports Editor
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
    Sulphur Springs had five players named to the recently released All-District 14-4A baseball team.

    Tyler Follis, sophomore pitcher, earned superlative honors taking the  Sophomore of the  Year from coaches by a unanimous vote.
    Other Wildcats on the team include: senior second sacker, Alex Burney (unanimous choice) and outfielder, senior, Brennan Brock. Named to the second team - Landon Brock, junior, infielder and outfielder, junior, Ethan Phillips.
    Below is listed the entire squad:

14-4A All-District
Baseball 2014
Most Valuable Player - Connor Reich-Hallsville-Sr.-unanimous
Offensive MVP - Blake Adams-Pine Tree-Sr.-unanimous
Co-Defensive MVPs - Trel Patton-Marshall-So. and Colton Obertheir-Hallsville-So.
Pitcher of the Year - Michael Kopech-Mount Pleasant-Sr.
Newcomer of the Year - Marshall McPherson- Texas High-Sr.
Sophomore of the Year - Tyler Follis-Sulphur Springs-So.-P, unanimous
Freshman of the Year - Cameron Haller-Marshall-Fr.-unanimous
Coach of the Year - Scott Mitchell-Hallsville-unanimous

First Team  
Pitchers - Coby Weaver-Hallsville-Jr.-unanimous; Chandler Minze-Pine Tree-Sr.-unanimous; Ryan Fant- Texas High- Sr.-unanimous and Brandon Bilnoski- Marshall- Sr.-unanimous
Catcher - Riley Greenlee-Mount Pleasant-Sr. - unanimous
First Base - Logan Bailey-Hallsville-Jr.-unanimous
Infield - Alex Burney-Sulphur Springs-Sr.- unanimous;  Jordan Raney-Mount Pleasant-Sr.- unanimous; Austin Blakely- Hallsville- Jr.- unanimous and Chris Chadwick-Pine Tree-Sr.- unanimous
Outfield - Brennan Brock-Sulphur Springs- Sr.;  Jacob Walker- Hallsville- Jr.; Mason Hayes- Pine Tree- Jr -unanimous ; Clete Norton- Texas High- Sr.- unanimous and T.K. Koontz- Mount Pleasant- Sr.
Designated hitter - Bushe Morgan-Pine Tree-Jr. - unanimous
Utility - Taylor Jones- Texas High- Sr.-unanimous

Second Team  
Pitchers -  John Cravey-Pine Tree-Sr.; Zach Phillips- Texas High-So.; Rich McFarland-Marshall-Jr. and Andrew Lee-Pine Tree-Sr.
Catchers - Nathan Bailey-Hallsville-Sr. and Trevor Danley-Texas High-So.
first Base - Jason Westmoreland-Marshall-Sr.
Infield - Landon Brock -Sulphur Springs-Jr.; Ty Meissner-Hallsville-Fr.; Alex Kugler-Texas High-Jr. and Tim McQuaid - Pine Tree - So.
Outfield - Ethan Phillips-Sulphur Springs-Jr.; Macailyn Wilder-Hallsville-Sr.; Matt Samford-Pine Tree-Jr.; Anthony Rhone-Texas High-Sr. and Andrew Flanagan-Mount Pleasant-Sr.
Designated hitter - Lance Lassen- Hallsville- Sr.
Utility -Tanner Arst-Marshall-Jr.




mySSnews Login

User Menu