LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News Yantis seniors claim $365K in awards

Yantis seniors claim $365K in awards

E-mail Print PDF

More than $365,100 in scholarships were announced for Yantis High School seniors during the Yantis Independent School District Academic Awards Ceremony Thursday evening.

The largest single awards of the night were presented to two seniors who will be joining the United States Armed Forces. Sgt. Andy Pyles announced Christian Blake Lewis will receive what will amount to upwards of $138,000 in scholarships from Texas Army National Guard/U.S. Army. Shelbie Ann Walker will receive at least $100,000 from the United States Air Force, YHS Principal Michael Alphin noted.

Valedictorian Lila Rose Hurley received more than $70,000 in scholarships. Texas A&M University-Commerce awarded her a $10,000 Presidential Scholarship and accepted her into the Honors College, which includes a scholarship covering her tuition, fees, partial housing, boarding and textbook fees. Overall, the honors college award is renewable for up to four years and estimated in value at $60,000.

Lila Hurley, Ashley Marie Bagwell and Caleb Isaac Allen each received a $1,000 Peoples Telephone Educational Fund Scholarship. Presenter Brittany Hayes noted Peoples presented 15 scholarships within the cooperative’s service area; selection was based on academics, leadership, honors, and work and volunteer experiences.

Alphin announced Ashley Bagwell and Jennie Shoemaker recipients of City National Bank Scholarships. Bagwell was awarded a $500 award and Shoemaker $2,000.

Shoemaker and Courtney Lynn Collins were announced as recipients of the $500 YHS Cell Phone Scholarship. Alphin explained that the funds were raised from fines charged to students during the year when they were caught using their cell phones. He asked all seniors who’d had their phones taken up and been fined during the year to retrieve them, then called the winner.

Tyler Junior College Utilities Maintenance Superintendent Mark Gartman announced five YHS students will benefit from a total of $40,000 in scholarships. Recipients include Courtney Collins, Caragen Lynae Battles, Roselilian Fernandez, Anjelica Sandoval and Jennie Shoemaker.

Collins was also announced by Amy Cato as the recipient of a special $250 Endowment Scholarship from the Vietnamese Friends of Paris Junior College.

Alphin presented Anjelica Sandoval, Destiny Marae Garces and Isaac Allen with $250 Scholarships given in honor of Ron McKinney by the Little Dribblers group.

Eddie Malloy and Tommy Neff presented Isaac Allen and Destiny Garces with $1,000 scholarships from Yantis Masonic Lodge No. 382. They also awarded Dylan Christopher Beech with the Mirabeau B. Lamar medal from the Grand Lodge of Texas for his character, grades, overall academic standing, integrity and giving more than 100 percent effort.

Dylan Beech, Isaac Allen and Destiny Garces each received a $1,000 Lake Country Neighbors Scholarship.

Destiny Garces also received a $1,500 Pilot Club Scholarship.

Dylan Beech received a $1,000 Jesse Parker Scholarship from Lake Fork Sportmans Association. Dick Walker with LFSA noted that for the first time this year the group awarded three scholarships to seniors in the Hopkins, Wood and Rains County area; Beech was one of the recipients.

Phill Hallman too presented Dylan Beech with scholarship from Lake Country Antique Tractor Association. Hallman noted LCATA received 62 applications for the scholarship and selected nine from the list for awards; Beech received a $600 scholarship.

YHS Senior Class of 2014 salutatorian Isaac Allen received a number of other scholarships and awards. Page Eaton noted Allen was one of 10 local students within the cooperative area to receive a $2,000 Wood County Electric Cooperative scholarship. Yantis-Lake Fork Lions Club presented Isaac Allen with a $1,000 Shoemaker Scholarship. Alphin also announced Allen as the recipient of a $2,000 Austin Bank Scholarship and awarded him the Anna Rose Scholarship.

Allen and Hurley were also recognized as UIL Scholars, an honor bestowed on athletes who are also in the top 10 percent of their graduating class.

Jackie Decker with Carter Blood Care recognized Isaac Allen, Ashley Bagwell, Caragen Battles, Molly Ruth Bell, Courtney Collins, Roselilian Fernandez, Destiny Garces, Jesse James McGregor, Jack Tucker Phillips, Anjelica Sandoval, Jennie Shoemaker, Daniel Lynn Trumble, Shelbie Walker, Tyler Glenn Weeks and Shelby Brook Young as Red Cord Honors recipients. Each of the students either donated blood twice this year or volunteers or recruited a family member or staff to donate on their behalf. High schools make up 30 percent of the blood supply donated to Carter Blood Care. YHS contributed 57 units of blood. Factoring in that each unit can help save three lives, that’s 170 East Texas lives impacted through YHS’ donation, she noted.

Also, during the awards program, Jazlyn Jenkins and Kayla Brown were honored as the valedictorian and saluatorian of Yantis Middle School eighth grade class of 2014.

UIL winners, robotics teams and students who had perfect attendance were also honored Thursday night at the annual awards program.




mySSnews Login

User Menu