LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram Sports Lady Cats earn district softball recognition

Lady Cats earn district softball recognition

E-mail Print PDF

News-Telegram Sports Editor
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
    Sulphur Springs players received All-District 14-4A softball honors with several named to the recently released team.

    Chosen for superlative honors were: Kasey Moore, junior, first baseman a unanimous choice for Offensive MVP. Katie Sapaugh was named Co-Pitcher of the Year and Kristen Allen, second baseman, was one of three freshmen honored.
    Moore not only hit .500 for the year, but had just one fielding error. She led the team with 33 RBIs, she had six homers, two triples, six doubles with 39 total hits.
    Sapaugh, a senior right-handed hurler, earned co-pitcher honors going 21-7 for the Lady Cats. She had 171 strikeouts in 191 innings posting a 1.60 earned run average.
    Allen, called into service due to injury, played very well in her first varsity action. The freshman second sacker had 15 hits in 14 games with four doubles, posting a .429 average and a steady glove.
    First team selections for the Lady Cats were seniors, Jaleigh Avery, third base and Mary Lopez, designated hitter along with junior outfielder, Makayla Glosson.
    Second team choices were - catcher Molly Johnston, sophomore; infielder, sophomore, Sarah Womack and outfielder Kiara Johnson, senior.
    Katie Barnett, junior outfielder, was listed as honorable mention.

    Below is listed the entire 14-4A all-district softball team.

    MVP — Cassidy Ferrell, junior, Hallsville.
    MVP Offense — Kasey Moore, junior, Sulphur Springs.
    MVP Defense — Katie McElroy, senior, Hallsville.
    Co-Pitchers of the Year — Katie Sapaugh, senior, Sulphur Springs; Bree Smallwood, freshman, Mount Pleasant.
    Tri-Freshmen of the Year — Kristen Allen, Sulphur Springs; Madison McElroy, Hallsville and Braley Turner, Texas High.
    Newcomer of the Year — Raney Bryant, senior, Hallsville.
    Designated Player of the Year — Alexis Veasley, senior, Mount Pleasant.
    Coach of the Year — Pat Eitel, Hallsville.
First team
    Pitcher — Meagan Hillis, senior, Texas High.
    Co-catcher — Emma Hawthorne, sophomore, Hallsville and Tyshanae Huey, sophomore, Mount Pleasant.
    Infield — Morgan Arst, sophomore, Marshall; Chealsea Slider, sophomore, Texas High; Jaleigh Avery, senior, Sulphur Springs; Hannah Mizell, sophomore, Hallsville; Keke Johnson, junior, Pine Tree and Niki Cheek, senior, Mount Pleasant.
    Outfield — Makayla Glosson, junior, Sulphur Springs; Jalissa Trotter, junior, Texas High; Jonquil Fisher, senior, Pine Tree; Julie Ann Rawls, sophomore, Hallsville.
    Designated hitter — Mary Lopez, senior, Sulphur Springs.
    Second team
    Pitcher — Codi Coghlan, senior, Marshall.
    Catcher — Molly Johnston, sophomore, Sulphur Springs.
    Infield — Sarah Womack, sophomore, Sulphur Springs; Shaderrian Richardson, sophomore, Hallsville; Melanie Wilson, senior, Pine Tree; Erin Wilson, Cassidy Rogers, seniors, Mount Pleasant and Kallie Phillips, junior, Texas High.
    Outfield — Kiara Johnson, senior, Sulphur Springs; Haliee Hollan, senior, Hallsville; SheShe Clayton, senior, Pine Tree and Briana Hargraves, junior, Mount Pleasant.
    Designated player — Nicole Linton, senior, Hallsville.

Honorable mention
Katie Barnett, junior, Sulphur Springs, outfield.




mySSnews Login

User Menu