LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News $143K in scholarships awarded to CPHS students

$143K in scholarships awarded to CPHS students

E-mail Print PDF

Como-Pickton High School seniors were awarded at least $143,000 in scholarships and received numerous other awards during the annual Senior Night Program Monday at Como-Pickton school.

All 44 students graduating from CPHS this year were offered at least one scholarship due to the efforts of the academic advisors and officials for CPHS and Paris Junior College, in transferring the partnership of the school from Northeast Texas Community College to PJC to offer dual credit courses this year.

“The result of the partnership is every single graduate of Como-Pickton this year will receive one class free, a value of about $300, at one of the three campuses or online. That’s nearly $14,000 to help Como-Pickton graduates to get their certification,” Como-Pickton Counselor Laurie Bult explained Monday night.

Parents or seniors were encouraged to get a flyer after the senior night program or later from the school explaining how graduates can claim the $300 PJC scholarship.

The largest single scholarship award presented this year was a Texas A&M University Honors College Scholarship presented to Jace Sturgill by his brother Seth Sturgill, who is a student ambassador at TAMU-Commerce. Seth noted that the award covers four years tuition, housing, meals and books and is valued at approximately $68,000. 

“From a professional and brother standpoint, I’m anxious to see what he’s going to do with it,” Seth Sturgill said, when announcing the award.

Sturgill as this year’s valedictorian will also receive a Texas Education Agency Honor Graduate Scholarship which covers his first year’s tuition at any public institute in Texas, valued at approximately $7,000. He also was the recipient of a $500 Como-Pickton PTO scholarship.

Averi Cain and Mikaela Jacks each benefitted from a $14,000 Outstanding New Student Scholarship from Texas Woman’s University, an award that’s renewable.

Cain, Jacks, salutatorian Chris Nabors, Taeler Schepp and William Ramirez each received a $500 Como-Pickton Athletic Booster Club Scholarship.

Jacks and Cole Mitchell were also recipients of $500 Gus Garrison Masonic Lodge Scholarships. The Lodge gives eight scholarships between Winnsboro and Como-Pickton schools. Jacks and Mitchell were the only to apply from C-PHS and were both awarded a scholarship.

Cole Mitchell was also the recipient of a $1,000 Texas Youth Ranch Rodeo Association Scholarship, a $5,000 NTCC Rodeo Scholarship and a $6,500 Panola College Rodeo Scholarship. Mitchell indicated he plans to attend Panola College.

William Ramirez also received a number of other scholarships. Tim Glenn awarded him the $2,500 City National Bank Memorial Scholarship in memory of longtime CNB employee Angie Mitchell. He received the $150 Professional Land Title Company Frankie and Glenna Jo Price Memorial Scholarship, given by Markeda Fisher and Kayla Price in memory of their parents; a $1,500 Scott Ferguson Memorial Scholarship, given by Texas Rural Educators Association; a $2,000 Jeld-Wen Scholarship; a $750 Lions Club Scholarship; and the $1,150 Clay Evans Memorial Scholarship, presented by Andy Evans and Phillip Kincade.

Andy Evans described Ramirez as a “good student and good guy,” who has attended CP Consolidated Independent School District from kindergarten through 12th grade, just as his brother Clay Evans did. Being able to present it was especially poignant for Andy. This month would be Clay’s 20-year class reunion from CPHS. However, Clay died June 6, 2013, after a battle with cancer. The award was presented to Ramirez “who has been touched by the fight against cancer just as I have.”

Principal Dustin Carr also awarded a $500 Lamar University Principal’s Award Scholarship to Ramirez. Because Carr is a graduate of Lamar University, the institution extends a $500 award to one graduate at the school where he is principal. William Ramirez was selected for the award.

Tristen Griner and Dalia Zepeda received $1,000 Imagine America Scholarships to put toward their further schooling or training in a technical field.

Griner, Zepeda and Kevin Bouland each also received a $1,000 Career College and School of Texas Scholarship to put toward continued education at a community college.

Russell Bowen was the recipient of a $750 Hopkins County Teen Court Scholarship. Bowen was a member of Teen Court, volunteering his time to serve as a teen attorney member for four years.

Among the honors announced were this year’s top 10 students based on both senior year averages and cumulative averages from all four years of high school, the latter utilized to determine valedictorian and salutatorian.

The top 10 rankings in Como-Pickton High School’s senior class were very close this year, with only 0.76 separating first from 10th place and only 0.081 difference between the valedictorian and salutatorian’s grade point averages.

In fact, valedictorian Jace Sturgill was surprised when he was announced the top student at Monday’s Senior Night Program.

But, when the final tallies were in, Sturgill had moved ahead, achieving not only the highest grade point average for senior year, but a 5.9794 cumulative grade point average for all four years of high school.

Chris Nabors came in fifth based on senior year rankings, but will ultimately finish a close second with a cumulative 5.8984 GPA and salutatorian honors.

Based on senior year rankings, Averi Cain was second, Mikaela Eryn Jacks third, William Ramirez fourth, Taeler Schepp sixth, Ana Erika Camacho seventh, Savannah Shockey eighth, Gustavo Salazar ninth and Ashley Matthews 10th.

Cumulatively, Mikaela Jacks again placed third in class with a 5.8850 GPA, Averi Cain fourth with a 5.86.37 GPA, William Ramirez fifth with a 5.5950 GPA, Taeler Schepp again sixth with a 5.4714 GPA, Gustavo Salazar seventh with a 5.3203 GPA, Aylin Cruz eighth with a 5.2666 GPA, Ana Erika Camacho ninth with a 5.2661 GPA and Rebecca Marrs 10th with a 5.2193 GPA.

Stephanie Desiree Jaco was recognized as an early graduate, having completed all graduation requirements in less than the normal four years of high school. 

Honor Graduates recognized included Averi Cain, Mikaela Jacks, Chris Nabors, Taeler Schepp and Jace Sturgill. Cain, Jacks, Nabors and Sturgill were also recognized as UIL Scholars, students who not only were ranked in the top 10 percent of graduates, but who also participated in UIL activities whether academic, music or athletics UIL.

National Honor Society members included Cain, Ana Camacho, Aylin Cruz, Jamie Daniel, Daicy Diaz, Yesica Gonzales, Jacks, Marlen Ledezma, Ashley Matthews, Nabors, Gustavo Salazar Aguayo, Schepp, Savannah Shockey and Sturgill.

Recognized for participation in Carter BloodCare’s Red Cord Honors Program were Caleb Boyd, Cain, Camacho, Hunter Childers, Jamie Daniel, Karla Berenice Gomez, Yesica Gonzales, Ruben Hernandez, Michael Hill, Jacks, Marlen Ledezma, Rebecca Marrs, Ashley Matthews, Ramirez, Neviea Rodriguez, Gustavo Salazar, Sturgill, Erin Watts, Tracy Wetzel and Stephanie Jaco.




mySSnews Login

User Menu