LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News Early voting under way for runoff election

Early voting under way for runoff election

E-mail Print PDF


    Early voting began this morning in the May 27 runoff election in which Hopkins County voters in Justice of the Peace Precinct 1 will settle a Republican runoff between Tanner Crump and Billy “BJ” Teer for JP1.
    In the Republican Primary Election in March, Crump received 429 votes and Teer received 411 votes to advance to the runoff election. There were five candidates in the primary.
    Because there was not a Democratic candidate for the office, the winner of the runoff will be sworn as Justice of the Peace Precinct 1 on Jan. 1, 2015.
    County voters will also help decide the runoff between incumbent Congressman Ralph Hall and challenger John Ratcliffe on the GOP ballot.
    In a contentious runoff race for State Senator, District 2, two-time challenger Bob Hall opposes incumbent Bob Deuell.
    There are no local seats to be decided in the Democratic runoff election.
    And several statewide elections will be going to a runoff on the ballot, including two Republican candidates for lieutenant governor, incumbent David Dewhurst and challenger Sen. Dan Patrick.
    Early voting in both Democratic and Republican runoffs will continue from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily through Friday, May 23, at Sulphur Springs Public Library, 611 North Davis St.
    According to VoteTexas.gov, runoff voters must vote in the same party they were registered for in the primary election. The voter registration deadline has already passed for the runoff election.




mySSnews Login

User Menu