LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram News In Local College News Paris Junior College holds honor society induction

Paris Junior College holds honor society induction

E-mail Print PDF

    The Beta Zeta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the two-year college honor society, is celebrating its 80th anniversary at Paris Junior College and recently inducted new members.

    PTK began in 1918, and the PJC chapter started in 1934. A gold PTK seal is placed on a student’s diploma to demonstrate their academic accomplishments.
    PTK President Aaron Sturgess, Vice President Destiny Mullens, Treasurer Stuart Edris, and Historian/Secretary Paula Vaughan led the ceremony.
    Students who are in PTK have opportunities to develop qualities of scholarship, leadership, fellowship and service.
    PTK offers $37 million in transfer scholarships to more than 700 colleges and universities in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, and online. Members are also eligible to apply for scholarships and award programs to assist them with costs of attending two-year schools.
    Students from the area inducted include:
    Sulphur Bluff: Ryan J. Watts
    Sulphur Springs: Aleya Biggers, Stephanie Bradford, Velda E. Claxton, Leydie S. Franco, Valorie Nell Frazier, Alonso Gallegos, Rick McCann, Madison Millsap, Andrea D. Rodriguez, Jarrett Thornton, Sean E. Vance and Sheena R. Wright.
    Yantis: Keri Glenn


mySSnews Login

User Menu