LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram Sports Lady Cats get all-district hoop honors

Lady Cats get all-district hoop honors

E-mail Print PDF

Perhaps the best season in school history for the Sulphur Springs Lady Cats led to recognition from District 14-4A girls coaches.
    Sulphur Springs had their season end with 25-6 record, champions in bi-district, area and winner of the regional quarterfinals.
    Desi Debase, junior 5-5, point guard was named Offensive Player of the Year in district.

    Debase was amazing with her consistency and leadership this year.
    Debase scored in double figures in 28 of the 30 games she played in this year.
    She topped 30 points three times, but not in meaningless tournament contests, but in tough, district games.
    She scored a season-high 37 points against Marshall and later put up 34 against the Lady Mavs. Debase scored 30 against district champion Texas High.
    For the year, Debase averaged 33.4 points, 4.7 assists and 4.5 points per game.
    Other Lady Cats recognized include seniors Destiny Wade and Shakoja Debase.
    Picked for the second team were juniors Kasey Moore and Chrissalynd Person.
    Receiving honorable mention notice were Lexi Moore, sophomore and senior Chaliyah Moore.
    The complete team includes:
SUPERLATIVE AWARDS: MVP-Jalissa Trotter, jr., Texas High; Off. Player of Year-Desi Debase, jr., Sulphur Springs; Def. Player of Year-Sky Lynn Holmes, jr., Pine Tree; Newcomers of Year-Shakyra Hutchings, fresh., Mount Pleasant, TaLure Wilder, soph., Hallsville; Coach of Year-Robert Cochran, Texas High.
    FIRST TEAM: Angel Crump, sr., Texas High; K. T. Davis, sr., Texas High; Chanell Hayes, jr., Texas High; Destiny Wade, sr.,  Shakoja Debase, sr., Sulphur Springs; Kabreisha Orange, jr., Pine Tree; Sheondra Clayton, sr., Pine Tree; Genesis Alvarez, sr., Mount Pleasant; Junesha Williams, sr., Hallsville.; Brea Robinson, sr., Marshall.
    SECOND TEAM: Kierra Smith, sr., Texas High; LaMonica Morgan, sr., Texas High; Kasey Moore, jr., ; Chrissalynd Person, jr., Sulphur Springs; Abi Skeeler, soph., Pine Tree; Nikki Martin, soph., Mount Pleasant; Dominique Templeton, sr., Hallsville; Morgan Arst, soph., Marshall.; Myeea Ford, soph., Marshall.
    HONORABLE MENTION: Texas High-Grace Brooks, fresh.; Mount Pleasant-Lauren Williams, soph.; Sulphur Springs-Lexi Moore, soph., Chaliyah Moore, sr.; Marshall-Maquaysa Stoker, jr., Emma Beth Runnells, soph.; Pine Tree-Alyssa Jones, soph., Marrissa Gary, fresh.; Hallsville-Brooklyn Taylor, fresh., Kelsey Ingram, jr., Zoey Horn, jr., Callie Wright, sr.




mySSnews Login

User Menu