LoginCreate an account

Home News-Telegram Sports Coach, 5 Wildcats get district hoop honors

Coach, 5 Wildcats get district hoop honors

E-mail Print PDF

    The Sulphur Springs boys basketball program got respect from their peers by finishing second in highly-competitive district race.
    They earned it and that was noted when fellow coaches in 14-4A named Wildcats head coach Jeremy Josey, Co-Coach of the Year with Jacob Skinner of Texas High.

    While Skinner coached the district champion, Josey was also acknowledged to taking a team which had not been successful in recent years to the playoffs. This season the Wildcats won seven district games in a row including impressive victories over Texas High and Marshall.
    “This is just another step for us, understanding that individual awards are a direct result of the team having success.  Overall it was a great season for the Wildcats, but the 2013-2014 season is behind us. We are not going keep moving forward as a program if we keep looking back.  Next year has already started for our underclassmen and the coaching staff,” Josey said.
    Wildcat senior point guard Isaiah Lacy was named Co-Offensive Player of the Year sharing the honor with Tiandre Jackson-Young of Texas High. Cain Cody, a sophomore post, earned Defensive Player of the Year.
    Wildcats named to the first team were: Darian Dial-Hall, senior and junior Jaylon Dugan. Selected for the second team - Javaron Ross, senior.
    Josey continued, “I am very excited for our seniors and to have all five starters receive recognition is a tribute to them and their hard work.  It speaks volumes to the dedication and commitment that these young men have.  Four out of five of these individuals began with us last year and contributed significantly at the varsity level and bought in to what the coaching staff asked them to do.  They went through some tough times last season, but matured and believed we could raise a banner this season for winning district or a play off game.”
    Other players named superlative include: District MVP, Jamal Ray, Texas High and Newcomer of the Year, Jaylen Rhone, Texas High, soph.
    The following is the list of the remainder of the all-district team, not including Sulphur Springs:

First team
    Jonathan Mitchell, soph., Hallsville; Shimar Jones, Jay McKnight juniors; Chris Brown, senior, Marshall; Andrew Flangan, D’Aundra Fields and K.D. Fields, seniors, Mount Pleasant; Blake Adams, senior, Pine Tree; Darion King, Taylor Jackson, seniors, Texas High.

Second team
    Nolan Johnson, Ryan Cole, sophs., Hallsville; Gerad Williams, senior, Curtis Kadar, junior, Marshall; D’Andrew Davis, senior, Da’Traeveon Rockwell, junior, Mount Pleasant; Caleb Chumley, Dalvin Manns, seniors, Pine Tree; Damian Willis, Jarion Anderson, juniors, Texas High.




mySSnews Login

User Menu