LoginCreate an account

  Username: Password:
Home Blogs From the Press Box Slap in the Face

Slap in the Face

E-mail Print PDF
User Rating: / 2

The Class 4A All-State voting by the Associated Press Sports Editors was released on Wednesday, and guess how many SS Wildcats made First Team? None. Second Team? None.

Talk about a slap in the face! The voting was done on regular season statistics only, but it's still a joke when Ty Rollison, Ryan Young and Jace Jackson don't get enough votes from supposed "sports editors" around the state to make First or Second Team. You can put some blame on the Dallas Morning News, which declines to cover Sulphur Springs, and when it does, gives all the credit to the team which the Wildcats beat (thanks, DMN, for absolutely nothing).

The Wildcats deserve better, and they have a chance to show it on Saturday.

Rollison, Young, Jackson, Jake Russell, Tyler Higginbotham, Colton Nash and Johnny McSheffery all made Honorable Mention All-State, which is a noteworthy accomplishent, of course. But, many of them deserved better than what they got.

By the way, the Texas Sports Writers Association's All-State Team which includes postseason statistics, will be coming out in January.

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment


mySSnews Login

User Menu