LoginCreate an account

Home Customer Service About Us

2013 Stew Contest winners announced

E-mail Print PDF

    For at least the fourth year in a row Chris and Scarlett Gibbins went home with the John Chester Award for Super Campsite. Two teams shared top billing at this year’s World Champion Hopkins County Stew Contest.

    This year’s Super Stew contest featured not one category of previous winners but both beef and chicken Super Stew winners.
    The Gibbins, who were sponsored by Texas Heritage National Bank, went home Saturday with the $250 Super Campsite prize provided by Super Handy.
    The Ben E. Keith sponsored team, Steve Littlefield and Duane Sears, went home with the $500 Super Stew Chicken prize sponsored by A&S Air Conditioning while the Guaranty Bond Bank sponsored team of Garrett Glass and Laura Glass won the $500 Super Stew Beef prize sponsored by Atmos Energy.
    The winning quart of Chicken Super Stew was purchased by AgriLand Farm Credit for $900. The winning quart of Beef Super Stew was bought for $900 by Alliance Bank, City National Bank and Guaranty Bond Bank.
    The first place beef stew prize of $300, provided by Town and Country Cleaners, was won by Brent McLendon and Tina Harry, who were sponsored by Fat Back Trucking.  A quart of their first place beef stew sold for $600 to Sulphur Springs Dodge.
    The first place chicken stew prize of $300 provided by Audley Moore Construction went to  Greg Carpenter and Dr. I.L. Balkcom, who were sponsored by Lazy B Ranch. A quart of their stew sold for $600 Summit Dental-Dr. Matthew Johnson.
    The campsite and costume winner was the Rock Creek Health & Rehab team of Tina and Larry Cox. They won the $200 prize provided by Judge Will Biard.
    The second place Super Stew Beef prize of $250 provided by Richard Drake Construction was won by Steve Littlefield and James McMahan, who were sponsored by Remax. A quart of their stew was bought by Luminant for $500.
    The second place Super Stew Chicken award went to Jerry Blount and John  McAfee, who were sponsored by Pro Auto Tinting; they received the $250 prize money provided by Ocean Spray. A quart of their stew was bought for $500 by Ramey and Sheffield and Rock Creek Health and Rehab.
    The second place beef stew award went to Brent Williams and Larry Nelson. The Bulkley Trucking team went home with the $150 prize provided by Sulphur Springs Livestock Commission. A quart of their stew was purchased by Farmer’s Electric Cooperative for $450.
    The second place chicken stew winner was the team of Richard Allen and Angela Allen, who were sponsored by Joel’s Taxidermy. They were awarded the $150 prize money sponsored by ABC Autoplex. A quart of their stew was bought for $450 by Integrated Data Services.
    The team of Sue Tittle and Jerry Tittle won the third place Super Stew Chicken award. The Bright Star Floors sponsored team went home with the $100 prize provided by A.K. Gillis. Their stew sold for $300 to Pinnacle Oral Surgery, Dr. Ranshaert.
    The third place Super Stew Beef award went to James Ross and Tonya Ross, who were sponsored by Alliance Bank. They went home with the $100 prize provided by Price Law Firm. Their stew sold for $300 to Senator Bob Deuell.
    The third place beef stew winning team of D.J. Powers and Karen Powers, who were sponsored by Billy Emerson, won the $50 prize money provided by A.K. Gillis. Their stew sold for $250 to Sen. Bob Deuell.
    The third place chicken stew winners were Marie Chester and Brian Dorner; they were sponsored by Woodmen of the World. Their $50 prize money was provided by Memorial Hospital Center for Acute Rehab. Their stew sold for $250 to Dr. Steele, DDS.
    One team in each category received honorable mention. Those winners included:
    Super Campsite — Brandon and Darrell Roach, sponsored by Roach Construction
    Super Stew Chicken — Robert and Madison Buster, sponsored by Buster Paving
    Super Stew Beef — Wickie Neal and Jo Marie Neal, sponsored by Tractor Supply Co.
    Campsite/Costume — Kurt Sehnert, sponsored by Aerostar International
    Chicken Stew — Krista Brown and Gary Friddle, sponsored by Northeast Texas Farmers Co-op
    Beef Stew — Chris and Jennifer Holt, sponsored by Abercrombie Body Shop




mySSnews Login

User Menu